CABANO COQ AU VIN

My father must have been a trial to my mother; she tried on occasion to inject a bit of exotic sophistication into her cooking, but he favoured simple things.  I remember him once stabbing at his plate violently, saying there was a dead mouse in his food.  My mother explained that it was a prune; she’d added dried fruit to her trusty curry recipe.

One another occasion he wanted to know why supper was taking so long; pots stood all over the place and flames were erupting from one on the stove.  “I’m making coq au vin” said my mother “it takes some time.”

“Well,” he said “if you muck about with that bird much longer you’re going to coq it up.”

In ‘easy, simple & delicious’ Sonia Cabano has taken coq au vin to just one pot on her stove.  Ordinarily not a dish I would prepare on a week night because of the perceived labour-intensive nature of the recipe, I took it on last night.

In her intro to the recipe, she says “Use a wine that you would actually drink to make this classic French chicken dish – not some cheap plonk that entirely defeats the exercise of cooking with wine in the first place.  This dish will make your house smell like a French bistro!”

And so, with a brief bit of grief, I withdrew a bottle of Kleine Zalze 2008 Vineyard Selection Pinot Noir from my rack and – yes – it did smell as though my kitchen was on holiday in France.

 

Coq au vin with pancetta and onions appears on page 144 of ‘easy, simple & delicious’.

Note:

I veered a tiny bit from the recipe, in order to meet Tandy’s weekly ingredient challenge, and included leeks, carrots and celery.

http://tandysinclair.com/2010/10/25/ingredient-challenge-3/

34 thoughts on “CABANO COQ AU VIN

  1. Your coq-au-vin looks deeeeeeeelish – i had an ugly stepmonster for a father – trues nonnies one straight out of a Stephen King novel – who banned – yes BANNED garlic – until the age of 18 I had never tasted garlic! No wonder I left home a week after finishing school – if only to seek out tasty food!!!!! hehehehe …….

  2. LOL…what a great post…and even BETTER dish!!! So ok….I could not resist…I looked everywhere and found her book through Kalahari.net and ordered it!!! In the end I paid about R150 for the book (which is an awesome price for me converted in Aus Dollar….and (hold on) …. R180 for delivery Bwhahahahahah…still all up cheaper for a book like that in our shops!! Now the waiting game begins!! You will just have to keep me entertained with those dishes girlfriend!!! I can’t wait to see what you come up with 🙂 Lovies xoxoxo

  3. Cin and Amanda, you both remind me of a neighbour I once had…she read cookbooks before going to sleep at night. Her cooking, however, improved to such a degree, she did manage to entice the Hospital Administrator into her bed. They are reportedly living happily ever after. Well, if one considers living from golf course to golf course “happily ever after”… I would need a considerable attitude adjustment for that.

    I will continue to look at posts by Cin and Buttercup and go to bed hungry. Sans Hospital Administrator.

  4. Very interesting, now enlighten one with my limited cullinary skills … does a better bottle of wine really make that much of a difference?

    Wife can’t ever get it over her sweet lovely little heart to splurge on the wine when she cooks

    • It’s not strictly a one-pot meal, just that all the stages of the cooking happen in the same pot and are removed to a holding dish, rather than having a whole lot of pots on the stove at one time and then assembling the dish.
      Glad you found Tandy.

  5. Pingback: Regional and Seasonal « Lavender and Lime

Leave a Reply

