BANANAS BEHAVING BADLY

My family don’t read my blog; they’re not remotely interested and think blogging is simply another of my eccentricities.  I didn’t tell them about the acupuncture, so it will be interesting – now that I am entering day three of not smoking – to see when they notice.  Because I always went outside to have a cigarette, it may well take them some time.  Still, I am rather peeved …

Original Bunn may be forgiven though; she’s been preoccupied with the pool party she threw yesterday.  I ought to be grateful that her party kept me busy with the food preparation for much of the morning.  Muffins, strawberry cake, chicken pies, date & honey cartwheels … I just kept churning things out of my oven.

 

The heat lately has been such that a bunch of bananas don’t make it home from the shops before turning brown and the only thing to do with them is bake.  I have a fail-proof recipe for these.

5 minute banana muffins

Smash up 5 bananas in a mixing bowl, add 1 egg and beat lightly.

Add a ½ cup of melted butter and ½ cup of white sugar and beat.

Add 2 cups flour, 1 tsp bicarb, 1 tsp baking powder and a pinch of salt.

Mix and divide into a 12 muffin baking tray.

Bake at 180C for 20 minutes.

48 thoughts on “BANANAS BEHAVING BADLY

  1. Well at some point they will notice and I’m certain they will be very proud of what you are accomplishing…Cheers my friend and have a great day…but good night. 😉

  2. You are doing brilliantly and have inspired me to action my promise as well – I’m resolving to kick it one more time very soon too. Like Peter Gabriel said: Don’t Give Up!!

    As for “the only thing to do with (ripe bananas) is bake” – you’re wrong you know.
    http://www.easycocktailrecipes.com/banana-daiquiri/
    Read the first line. May even be a better use for them considering your nicotine-deprived frame of mind at the moment!

    Hang in there.

  3. LOL @ Greg, really – daquiris for a tweenies party is an overkill, and you needed to be sure they wouldn’t steal your drink 😉

    Hang in there, you are getting past the worst. When in need, phone Lindsay?

  4. The banana muffins look great. I bought bananas yesterday and ate them all one straight after another – I had had such a craving for them! Enjoy your Sunday, Cin. 🙂

      • Actually, I’ve had a problem with cramps in my feet and lower legs and I’ve been taking magnesium tabs which have helped a lot, but bananas are rich in magnesium and seeing as I was craving them, I ate them all (6 or 7) with no ill effects. 😉

  5. do not feel alone, Dave does not read my blog either. When I gave up smoking the first time it took him months to notice – and I smoked 20 a night with him right next to me!

  6. (1) You are eccentric.

    (2) When they do realize you’ve quit, they’re apt to say something infuriating like, “Oh, you must have had an easy time of it. We didn’t notice anything amisss. . . . Are there any banana muffins about?”

    (3) In response, you will march over to the neighbor’s house for a smoke.

    (4) I like banana muffins! And strawberries on cake!

  7. Don’t blame you for being peeved… I would be too. And oolala, wish I’d been at that pool party, just to hang out with you in the kitchen. I could almost eat that strawberry cake picture right off the computer screen (why haven’t the techies figured out a way to do that yet??) 😉

  8. Now I understand the comment on my blog!
    Coincidence! LOL

    Interesting the whole thing about family…

    Like they paraphrase, “a prophet is seldom honored in her own country” … something like that.

  9. The food looks great! I will have to try your banana muffin recipe…I love baking with bananas. 🙂
    Hang in there with the non smoking efforts! You can do it!

  10. …good luck with the ciggies….it does become easier with time….but not much,……and you will be ever so proud when they notice….
    ..Cin…doen my `n gunsie en loer daar by “borrels”….nogal mooi skrywes…
    lekker bly hoor..

  11. Hi Cin, can you believe that I am happily addicted to Nicorette gum now 🙂
    Stopped ciggies over a year ago, but I am never without my gum.

  12. I read and love your blog 😉

    Congratulations! We are proud of you.

    Great recipes and photos with a different perspective as always.

    Do you also stand on chairs to take photos ?

Leave a Reply

