OF BREASTS AND PRESERVED LEMONS

Not smoking continues to consume my every waking thought.  The doctor who administered my acupuncture, Dr Zipp, called me yesterday to ask how I was doing (nice touch, don’t you think?) and offered a reinforcement treatment for free if I think I need it.  I’ll see how I fare over the weekend; in the meantime I will simply eat …

I’ve got several things to review at the moment, products and books, and tackled a tinned bubbly at sundown yesterday.  Available in packs of four 250ml cans, Eve Rose is handy for picnics and the like.  The product would probably have gone down a treat as an alternative to the beer sold at the Soccer World Cup.  I found it too sweet; think 5th Avenue Cold Duck without the candy floss undertone.  Still, it evoked nostalgia for the 70s, especially when served in old fashioned champagne glasses; which Supagran says were designed from a mold of Marie Antoinette’s breasts.  Not a well-stacked lass, was she?

 

My nostalgia is being coddled as I work my way through Sonia Cabano’s latest recipe book ‘easy, simple & delicious’, which I will review in a future post.  The clean, crisp way in which she deals with food is inspiring and sent me scurrying to my kitchen to use up my jar of preserved lemons.

CHICKEN AND PRESERVED LEMON CASSEROLE

 

Pack in layers:

2 cups brown & lentil rice

1 tbs Ras El Hanout

1 tsp crushed garlic

1 tbs crushed ginger

Pinch of saffron strands

2 sliced sweet potatoes

Handful of sliced spring onions

Chopped baby spinach

4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts (sliced halfway to allow flavours to penetrate)

6 quarters of preserved lemon

1 green pepper, thinly sliced

Chopped fresh coriander

500 ml chicken stock

Bake at 180C for an hour.

36 thoughts on “OF BREASTS AND PRESERVED LEMONS

  1. Glad to hear the nonsmoking effort is still a ‘no’…the champagne sound like the ‘stuff’ we had in undergraduate school when we couldn’t afford something else…but the meal sounds far better…may have to give it a try. Have a great day!

    • I am sure the acupuncture has killed the chemical craving; my problem seems to be ingrained behavior … what you once termed ‘punctuation’. I need to address and change my routines.

  2. I’m having culinary cardiac arrest. Do you mean that in order to critique a cook book, you have to cook all those recipes? *Looking through Yellow Pages to find names of single, male recipe book critics*

  3. Phone the doc back Cindy – get your reinforcements!!
    That chicken looks devine – uncooked! One day when I grow up I am going to cook like you!!!

  4. The recipe looks like a great one to try. As for the boob glass…um I mean champagne glass, that was a piece of trivia I had never heard before. I imagine that the more you drink from the glass, the larger they look? I send you wishes of much strength to help you with your battle…may you beat the burning stick handily!

  5. Cin, I found that it was having to find something to do with my hands and also with my MOUTH. Hence I found gum the answer… for me. I hate to see someone chewing gum, but I only used it when I got d-e-s-p-e-r-a-t-e, lol, and it DID help tremendously! Also it didn’t help to have people ask how things were going 😡 Good luck, my friend!

  6. I sometimes wonder which bit of whose anatomy was used to design the long thin champagne flutes? After all if Marie Antionette was used as the model for the wide glass, someone myst have been used for the other one?

  7. Oh cin, hang in there however best you can. Can your doctor give you that pill, Chantix (sp)? It’s worked for several people I know. I am certainly thinking about you – maybe you should come to my house and cook. That would take your mind off everything. 🙂

    • It’s available in SA as Zyban and I tried it some years bac, but developed a violent allergy to it.
      Wouldn’t it be nice to hop on a plane and play in your kitchen 🙂

  8. The chicken and lemon preserves sounds/looks divine. The drink, if it’s sweet, wouldn’t be for me. Lots of chuckles about the Marie Antoinette glasses and the … erm. Where would we be if we couldn’t laugh? No advice for what might help, but thinking about you lots. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

