AS SIMPLE AS SUNSHINE AND FISH & CHIPS

The telephone operator asked me if I would accept a reverse charges call from the public phone in the school yard.  I was alarmed, why would the child be phoning me in the middle of the day?

“Hello Mom!  I just wanted to say hello.  And can we have fish and chips for lunch.  And guacamole?  I’m starving.  OK, bye, I love you!”

And that was that.

 

“Perhaps it will seem to you that the sunshine is brighter and that everything has a new charm. At least, I believe this is always the result of a deep love, and it is a beautiful thing.” Vincent van Gogh

45 thoughts on “AS SIMPLE AS SUNSHINE AND FISH & CHIPS

  1. Indeed – there is nothing like it in the world! What a precious gift she gave, because you have given to her. “We love because God first loved us.” (I John 4:19) thanks for this wonderful post!

    (And the guacamole looks great! – :-D)

  2. I’ll tell you this much: in the US GOOD fish and chips is everything BUT simple… so I’ve started making my own. (Some days I miss Fishaways. That used to be my favorite.) On the flip side: I love relationships like that… “I know my mom won’t mind… she loves me… :)”

  3. I love that! (except for the heartstopping moment when you feared something was wrong). Love fish & chips too, when they’re good (and I bet yours are fab!); I’m down to one fave place in this city, and they’re not open in winter 😦 – perhaps just as well, as it’s an outdoors venue.

    The quote is beautiful! – I heard it recently in the Van Gogh: Brush with Genius Imax production. I believe it was there; I remember thinking how odd it was that I hadn’t come across it before.

    • Before I went to Europe for the first time, I never knew there were ‘seasonal stores’. Over here any business would have to sign a lease agreement with their landlord that they stay open 6 (some 7) days a week, 12 months a year.

  4. Sounds like love.
    Hey, what’s the proper way to prepare fish and chips …by the way. I mean we hear about it all the time…and of course we do have fish and french fries, as they are known here,,,But, what’s the correct way to prepare the fish…and the chips for that matter?

    Oh, and by the way, I have been meaning to contact you and let you know that everything is fine with me…Just spending more time on a Christian Chat room, my Praise Music, and looking for employment more than writing lately. God Bless
    paul

      • I bake the fish (hake in this case) drizzled with lemon juice and a spicy rub made by NOMU at 180 degrees Celcius, until just firm (about 20 minutes.
        I also bake my chips, tossed in olive oil. they take a little longer than the fish, about 35 minutes, so they go in the oven before the fish.

  5. A heart burning scenario – from one end of the spectrum to the other. AND (! 🙂 ) I was thinking about the Bunn’s book. You suggested: MY MOTHER THE KITCHEN EVIL

    Was your dyslexia showing? It would likely be: MY MOTHER THE KITCHEN – LIVE!

Leave a Reply

