MONDAY THOUGHTS

If you sit on my balcony just before dawn, you can hear the muezzin call from the minaret in the Emmarentia mosque.

This is how I like to begin my day, with a blanket to fight the morning chill and some dogs to fight the crime.

I worry a bit, plan my day and read a few pages of my current library book. Sometimes, I drag the laptop out and reply to the mail of the previous day.

My inbox one morning contained a challenge which I was reluctant to ignore, as it came from a friend with a rather large estate and no apparent heirs, so here is the reply:

THE ULTIMATE FIVE

Book:

The Bible. It has wonderful plots and fantastic lines. However, I must agree with Samuel Butler, “An apology to the Devil: it must be remembered that we have heard only one side of the case. God has written all the books”.

Painting:

American Gothic by Grant Wood.

Place: Smitswinkelbaai.

Relaxation CD:

Etta James: Blue Gardenia

Dinner Guests:

Quentin Crisp

Winston Churchill 

Margot Asquith

Coco Chanel

You.

With that done, I’ll get on with my day.

Keep smiling and remember:

“He is a drunkard who takes more than three glasses”. – Epictetus.

24 thoughts on “MONDAY THOUGHTS

  1. I agree with you on the Bible, and also with Butler (love it, hadn’t seen it before). Love Etta James. Hope you have a la-a-a-a-rge table for all the You’s you just invited. 🙂 Have a great Monday!

  2. Ha!

    “My inbox one morning contained a challenge which I was reluctant to ignore, as it came from a friend with a rather large estate and no apparent heirs . . . ”

    Such witty repartee
    So early in the day!
    Hold us in your sway
    Touché, my dear, touché!

  3. Haha, very interesting dinner party! Three glasses and I’ll be on my ear as I discovered recently… my metabolism can only handle two at the moment, but I suppose it depends on the length of time taken to quaff it!

  4. Lovely start … even with the worry. American Gothic – intrigues. Etta James – fab. Chirchill – now I have more than a few questions for him.

    Hope a fine day followed …

  5. I’ve not read Denis Charles Pratt, who could pass for a Dame Edith in Wikipedia. I would thank Winston for his great quote: “When you are going through hell, keep going.”

    On a more serious note, what does the phrase “and some dogs to fight the crime” mean?

    • The pre-dawn hours are notorious here for armed house robberies, most people are wise to stay locked in behind their security doors. Us foolhardy ones have trust dogs to scare off would-be villians.

      • Oh, Cin… I really do take my freedom for granted. I have my tin of Wasp Spray (it blinds, but only temporarily) somewhere in my night table and forget to lock my door. Not sure what I would do with a blinded burglar running about my house bumping into everything!!

        Duc would want to sit on the burglar’s lap.

        I’m glad you have the dogs and can enjoy that great time of day. I vote for softer cushions for both.

Leave a Reply

