SUNDAY MORNING REGULAR

Early Sunday morning, before I tackle the debris from a lovely dinner party …

My cake (dubbed ‘Willy Wonka’ by a friend, before it rose beautifully in the oven) was the star of the show …

There’s a chorus of birdsong outside, Dawn is lilac and moody; I hope she brings rain …

And here’s my regular little Sunday Quizzy thing:

 

Soundtrack in your car?

702 Talk Radio

Have you ever lived alone?

Yes

 What is the length of your longest relationship?

Sixteen years

 What do you do for a living?

Freelance writer, editor and proofreader.  I used to be involved in advertising and events, but the long, late hours don’t do it for me anymore.

 Are you a good speller?

I think so; there are some words that I always have to check, like embarrass.

 Do you get up to pee in the middle of the night?

Yes, at 11pm and 2.30pm, always.

How long is your lunch break?

Infinitely long, care to do lunch?

What was your last dirty thought?

I must wash the dog blankets today.

Do your parents have a will?

No, I am an orphan.

Are you close with your sibling(s)?

With my sister, my brother and I have drifted apart.

Do you think you have to be initially sexually attracted to a person to fall in love?

I think this is a question for the younger crowd.

Do you have more same sex friends or opposite?

50 / 50.

If you could retire (not quit) today, would you? Why or why not? 

I guess I am already semi-retired, I do miss the pulse of the business world quite a lot.

Is your life at all what you thought it would be like when you were a kid?

Absolutely not.

Have you ever stood someone up? If yes, why?

Yes, I just didn’t feel up to all the pomp and ceremony that particular day.

What’s the worst thing someone said to you?

“The saddest thing is not that you continue to paint, but that you hang the crap on your walls”.  This from a very drunk visitor who sells the occasional formulaic seascape watercolour in Fish Hoek.

Do you cry often?

Yes.  I believe it is very good for the eyes.

Are you having a good hair day?

My hair is extremely short, it is very much something I seldom think about.

What is your favorite fruit?

Tomato.

Are you afraid to fly?

No, I travel often, but every time at take-off I wonder …

Do you own any guns?

Yes, a glue gun and a staple gun.

Are you shy or outgoing?

Neither.

Do you put off doing things because you are afraid of what will happen?

Sometimes.

Do you long for someone you can’t have?

I miss my parents dreadfully and wish that they would come back just once, so that my daughter could spend a day with them

Do you spend more time naked or clothed?

Clothed, I am considerate of the public.

What is your favorite board game?

Scrabble.

36 thoughts on “SUNDAY MORNING REGULAR

  1. Oh, oh. 8:36 pm. It’s an awkward time for that cake to appear. It looks soooo good.

    I love your quick wit, Cin. I lost my tea on: “Clothed, I am considerate of the public.”

  2. Love your answers to the questions, lol! I also love scrabble and didn’t know one could play it online… The boardgame I absolutely hate is monopoly – I can never get anwhere!

  3. Don’t think I’ll be doing this quiz. . .just the thought of me naked with a gun sends me around the bend (and should everyone else, too).

    Never even tried Scrabble online, but I’ve sen it available. I’m with Nancy in that part of the fun is sitting with your friends and shuffling those tiles, and hoping for a “Q” to go with your “U!” There’s a need for a physical presence I think. . .

  4. Re retirement… I was surprised to hear you’re semi-retired, you always seem to be working on some project. I don’t edit for a living any more and don’t miss it one bit. Well, maybe the money a little… 😉

    Re worst thing… god! I hope you threw that person out; being drunk is no excuse for such rudeness, especially from a visitor.

    The cake looks great – will we be blessed with a ‘Willy Wonka’ recipe one of these days? {nudge nudge} 🙂

  5. Pingback: Q U I Z « Adeeyoyo's Blog

  6. Wonderful taste of your brilliant mind, Cindy 😀 Your drunken visitor’s comment is hilarious – I can imagine it attests a whole lot more to him/her than your art!

Leave a Reply

