OPPOSITES ATTRACT

Baby seems we never ever agree
You like the movies
And I like T.V.
I take things serious
And you take ’em light
I go to bed early
And you party all night
Our friends are saying
We ain’t gonna last
‘Cause I move slowly
And baby you’re fast
I like it quiet
And you love to shout
But when we get together
It just all works out …

Paula Abdul

Witness this little scene of domesticity:  a barbeque, the same ingredients; my dear husband’s plate … and mine.  He had beer … I had wine …

 

 

I wouldn’t change him for the world …

You say either and I say either, You say neither and I say neither
Either, either Neither, neither, Let’s call the whole thing off.

You like potato and I like potahto, You like tomato and I like tomahto
Potato, potahto, Tomato, tomahto, Let’s call the whole thing off

But oh, if we call the whole thing off Then we must part
And oh, if we ever part, then that might break my heart

So if you like pyjamas and I like pyjahmas, I’ll wear pyjamas and give up
pyajahmas …

George and Ira Gershwin

31 thoughts on “OPPOSITES ATTRACT

  1. What a lovely post!!! Both songs are wonderful and as for the two plates… well I could eat either, but the meat looks too much for me (notice, I didn’t say the chips, lol!). 😀

  2. One of my wise friends says: “The moment you hear yourself saying ‘if only’ about any aspect of the man, you are to turn around and walk away. You are to leave the poor devil alone.”

  3. First of all, AMEN! to Souldipper’s comment!
    This is a great post. Opposites attract indeed, and often because one sees something in the other they either don’t have or wish they did! People are an odd creation, I think, and then I remember the ostrich or the platypus. . .

    The Gershwin song (one of my favorites) reminds me of a wonderful true story (uh-oh! – now you’ve started doing that to me!)

    Nanette Fabray (used to sing on “The Hit Parade” on TV and was a regular Broadway star, in spite of being partially deaf), in one of her very first auditions, performed “Let’s Call the whole Thing Off.” She had never seen or heard it performed, so she didn’t understand the nuances of pronunciation that distinguish the song. So when she sang it, she did it like an “echo” song. She’s sing the first line: “You say either,” and would then cup her hands on each side of her mouth and repeat the phrase the same way! She did each line like that! She tells this story on herself, and it is one of the great “My most embarrassing moments” stories – except she didn’t find out how embarrassing until much later when she heard the song performed correctly! 😀 Wish I could find a video of her telling that story. . .

  4. Wonderful post, Cin. BFF and I have very similar tastes in food . . . except he’s got a SWEET tooth and I’d rather eat salty, crunchy snacks.

    BTW: My plate would be a hybrid of the two depicted. 🙂

  5. Give me your plate any old day. 🙂 And I have never learned to like beer (never really tried, for that matter). Great post, and I wonder: if opposites attract why, when they meet, do so many immediately set about trying to change the other? 😉

  6. What a fab post – and what a wonderful thread it has started!
    just to be contrary, Phil and I would both choose the beany plate, but it is no virtue to be a pair of culinary slobs.

    Variety is the spice of life:-)

Leave a Reply

