FISHCAKES FOR ADEEYOYO

Some time ago I wrote about my love for tinned sardines, despite them being looked down upon as the food of plebs.  Adeeyoyo left a comment about being nostalgic for sardine fishcakes she’d eaten in the canteen of a previous employer, and I promised to make them and post a recipe for her.  It’s been some time, but I try to stick to my word and here they are:

 

(To make 12 large fishcakes)

1 420g tin pilchards/sardines in tomato sauce

Equal volume of mashed potato (leftover from roast chicken meal the night before)

1 large onion, finely chopped

3 large eggs

1 chopped green chilli (optional)

Pour off half the tomato sauce and refrigerate.

Mash sardines and rest of sauce and add to potatoes, add onion and eggs and mix well.

Heat an oiled pan, add spoonfuls of the mixture (I used stacking rings to get an even shape) and fry on medium heat for about 5 minutes each side.  The fishcakes will appear slightly ‘soggy’ but will become firm with cooling.

Serve cold, with a green salad, lemon wedges and the reserved tomato sauce.

I’ve calculated that this meal costs R21 in total and can feed 6 people.  It’s delicious, nutritious and low fat.  Plebian?  Maybe, but in this day and age I reckon it’s a right winner.

52 thoughts on “FISHCAKES FOR ADEEYOYO

  1. What a lovely surprise – I had forgotten all about it! Thank you so much Cindy. The chef used to make them with the chillie variety of pilchards and thicken the left over sauce to serve separately. Delicious 😀

  2. I know the things are supposed to be good for you. My Godmother in Texas swears by them and she’s 90. But bleccch. Definitely an acquired taste for me. No thanks. Thanks, but no thanks. :-\

  3. These look good!..and so does the “real” photo! I was only thinking about tuna patties the other day haven’t made them in along time…not really in the Italian cusine menu!!

  4. Well, I have to say, those fish cakes look darned good, although I’ve never cared for tinned sardines… I do like fish cakes – what the heck, maybe I’ll try it sometime 🙂

  5. Cin, you could actually entice me to eat sardines! They look delicious and I’m starving. It’s lunch time and I have to do grocery shopping so I’d better find something or I’ll buy the store.

  6. oooh yummy. i love good fishcakes. the ones from wollies tasted like cardboard. I’ll have to add the tomato puree as my cans of sardines are all the plain ones.

    Now I know what I’ll be having for supper tonight, thanks for the idea

  7. Haven`t had those in a while….will have to make a plan….or extract a promise of an invite when you do make them again….I love them with an omellette and lots of cheese and tomatoes…..yummy….

  8. Pingback: THE KEY TO A TIN OF SARDINES « The only Cin

Leave a Reply

