OSSO BUCCO AND A RANDOM DOZEN THINGS

It could have been very awkward: he is the brother of my husband’s ex-wife, but Paul has become a good friend to me and is, amongst other things, my financial advisor.  He is also a cordon bleu chef, a highly opinionated man and very critical.  So it is of great pride to me that he has praised every meal I have prepared for him.  Last night I served Osso Bucco and he pronounced it as good as any he has eaten in Milan; he said my addition of green olives was a stroke of genius.

I used a wine that Side View has brought along on Thursday night, thinking we would find it interesting.  We each took a sip and immediately flung our glasses into the sink and corked the bottle.  Not for drinking, perhaps, but it was perfect for my stew.

On a totally unrelated matter, my Sunday morning email quizzy-thingy: here a dozen arbitrary things you didn’t know about me:

1. I am going in search of a dwarf rabbit today, with my daughter.

2. My hair is very, very short and grey, I think grey hair is really sexy.

3. Bald men are sexy, in my opinion.

4. I like men in boots; cowboy boots, hiking boots, riding boots, Wellingtons…

5. You will not find me in bed later that 5.30am unless I am at Death’s door.

6. When I was young, I dreamed of having 12 children and living on a farm, I’m still kind of sad that picture didn’t materialize.

7. I don’t like motor cars and think the world is worse off for the invention of highways.

8. Contrary to rumours, I do not sit around drinking Merlot all day long.

9. I refuse to eat unless I am sitting at a table, with a knife and fork and a china plate.

10. Anyone in white, pointy shoes looks plain silly to me.

11. I have the biggest nose in the world.  When they make the movie of my life, Gerard Depardieu will play me.

12. When I was a little girl I wanted to become a florist.

Have a happy Sunday, my friends, and make sure you smile at someone who’s not expecting it 🙂

41 thoughts on “OSSO BUCCO AND A RANDOM DOZEN THINGS

  1. some answers back.
    2. I think grey hair is really sexy. Unfortunately the women on my mother’s side don’t get the pretty silver hair, we just fade to mouse.
    3. Bald men are sexy, in my opinion.
    Sorry. I like hair.
    5. You will not find me in bed later that 5.30am unless I am at Death’s door.
    You will not find me up at that hour unless I am still up from the night before.
    7. I don’t like motor cars and think the world is worse off for the invention of highways.
    My grandpa said if you feel asleep at the help of a buggy the horse would get you home.
    9. I refuse to eat unless I am sitting at a table, with a knife and fork and a china plate.
    Nah. I like finger food.
    11. I have the biggest nose in the world.  When they make the movie of my life, Gerard Depardieu will play me.
    Mine is large too. Maybe Barbara Streisand instead? She can sing.

  2. i am SO glad that wine cooked ok

    the bunny thing – start ooking for breeders on the web

    re you, your nose is NOT that big, it’s a strong feature but it is not out of proportion, you just have a thing about it

  3. You so do NOT have the biggest nose in the world!!!
    I am with you on the boots and bald!
    Have a happy bunny hunting day!!

  4. Osso Bucco one of our favourites in this household usually served with polenta! a truely traditional Italian meal…a touch of genius,yes,for the addition of olives…
    #4…men in boots….Agree!
    #10…Agree!…even worse when wearing black stockings and white shoes! a 70’s thing!?

  5. There are times I am so happy to be vegetarian. And today is one of those days…I do not have to look at body parts. I do not have to study the photo and say, “Shin? Shin of what…some poor elephant?” Or have we finished with the Ox Tails and moved to its shins?

    I just know I’m going to be massacred for this.

    • In re-reading this, I’m not sure the humour comes across . This is where we do need more emoticons or whatever they are called. However, I am so totally at a loss as to what the dish is – even after Cin lists that it is shin. So it is my ignorance that I’m displaying in a very big way.

      Cin, congratulations on your culinary coups. With your love and passion for preparing and presenting such a diverse taste in meals means that it is no surprise that you receive accolades and commendations from the best of the best.

      Now I can go to bed without fretting about my ignorance.

      • Bwahaha, you sound like my daughter. She always says it’s a sin to eat something that had grandparents.
        For the record; osso bucco is Italian for ‘bone with a hole’ and the marrow is an essential contributor to the dish. Now, I expect that is too much info and you’re totally grossed out, so I hope you went to bed before reading this comment 😉

  6. 2. My hair is very, very short and grey, I think grey hair is really sexy.
    MINE TOO!
    3. Bald men are sexy, in my opinion.
    YES, YES, YES!
    4. I like men in boots; cowboy boots, hiking boots, riding boots, Wellingtons…
    ME TOO!
    5. You will not find me in bed later that 5.30am unless I am at Death’s door.
    ME TOO!
    6. When I was young, I dreamed of having 12 children and living on a farm, I’m still kind of sad that picture didn’t materialize.
    NOT SO MANY CHILDREN, BUT THE FARM – YES!
    7. I don’t like motor cars and think the world is worse off for the invention of highways.
    HATE THE EXHAUST SMELL – ELECTRIC – SOLAR!
    10. Anyone in white, pointy shoes looks plain silly to me.
    AGREE!
    11. I have the biggest nose in the world. When they make the movie of my life, Gerard Depardieu will play me.
    MINE IS GETTING BIGGER – I HEARD NOSES AND EARS CARRY ON GROWING…
    12. When I was a little girl I wanted to become a NURSE.

    Have a happy Sunday, my friends, and make sure you smile at someone who’s not expecting it YES, YES, YES!

    • The nurse thing was a fancy, but only for about a day, then my mom told me nurses have to deal with poop …
      I do hope my nose doesn’t grow anymore, it is already big enough to go to school!

  7. I have never focused on your nose when looking at photos of you . . .

    Either you’re very good at hiding the nose on your face in pictures, OR it’s not as big as you imagine it to be. 😉

    Enjoy the bunny. Do not post a recipe for rabbit stew anytime soon or we won’t just be whispering about your Merlot consumption.

  8. Grteta post, Cin, and fabulous to discover a bit more about you 🙂

    LOL at Nancy’s chirp about rabbit stew! Delighted that you and OB found your little one. Please keep us posted on her name…

    BTW, I too have never noticed your nose!!

  9. Nice to know a skosh more about you, Cindy. Anyone in white, pointy shoes should be watched carefully. Cowboy boots (and hat to cover this bald head) are my favorite 🙂 Happy…er…Monday!

  10. To get the praise of a chef of that calibre is no easy feat.
    You must be really good.
    One day when my show comes to south africa.
    Just so you’re prepared
    My favourite meal is pasta genovese.
    thanks in adance. lol

  11. Phoebe??? Is that not also the neighbour’s dog’s name? LOL…so cute. I just love reading these quizzy things about you…you are just awesome girlfriend (and I think a very sexy one too) Hope your weekend was a good one 🙂 xxx

  12. Pingback: I Used To Care . . . « Spirit Lights The Way

Leave a Reply

