STICKY-TAPE AND STRING

And so to address Side View’s weekend theme … I can’t say much about sticky-tape; only that it is an item that mysteriously disappears in our house.  Some black hole swallows it up, along with pens, socks and hairclips.

String I have, an essential kitchen item; handy for tying a bouquet garni and stuffed roasts.

A few can touch the magic string, and noisy fame is proud to win them:

Alas for those that never sing, but die with all their music in them!
Oliver Wendell Holmes

OK, I’ll admit I’m floundering on this theme, so allow me to string you along with a bit of eye candy:

Everybody in the foodie world is playing with asparagus at the moment; or those of us in the southern hemisphere are.  I’m rather envious of my friends Tandy and Amanda, who are boasting shamelessly of their abundance of scallops.  I went off on a quest to find some at the local fisheries yesterday, and came home with a very pricey pack of Norwegian smoked salmon / R90 for 200g.  Still, a good supper and I’ve just been told by Old Spouse that he feels great this morning, thanks to the healthy meal.

I’ve developed a guilty little secret in the past week; I’ve become addicted to online shopping!  A griddle pan was not essential, but oh! what fun I am having with it!

And finally, the October “Diski Ear Update”; alas! I can’t report any progress:

To participate in the weekend theme, or read other contributions, go to:

http://viewfromtheside.wordpress.com/

31 thoughts on “STICKY-TAPE AND STRING

  1. This is what people love to read. The pics are wonderful, it’s inspirational. And online shopping’s the future. Great post.

  2. Looks so delicious Cindy, I have to say I love salmon but cannot believe how expensive it is there? Don’t think I’ll even touch the subject of online shopping…those sleepless nights can tell of many cookbooks (and then some more) that really was not needed (hiding my head in shame)..Diski has grown so much…what a cutie!! Your pictures are beautiful xx

  3. I truly love salmon, Mugg and Bean used to have a decent salmon breakfast.

    Being a sashimi and sushi afficonado means I have no qualms about raw slices of salmon either … yum!

  4. What an array of topics to start my day with…hope you found the champagne flutes for your friend…seems the responses were as varied at the stituations stepmothers/fathers find themselves in….Oh, the poor pup looks like he’s going to keep that ear problem….but it does give him a bit of character.

    • Diski is a she 🙂 and she does have oodles of character.
      The champagne flutes were delivered yesterday, for the future I expect to provide a shoulder to cry on from time to time.

  5. Handsome pup (loved adee’s comment, so right) and, who cares about the ear (as long as it’s not a problem for him)… As for me, I’m not a raw fish (or meat) person, but I do love salmon – luckily I live on the coast where it’s not that hard to get, in season, I mean. A very nice-sticky tape and string post, I agree with Amy there.

  6. So, addicted to on line shopping, eh? 😉

    Enjoy the griddle pan. We had one once, gave it away. We had two different sandwich presses. Gave them away. We had an electric skillet, a crepe maker, a milk shake maker, an ice shaver, an ice cream maker . . . gave them all away.

    Now I have an excuse not too spend so much time in the kitchen. 8)

    • Jamie, you would withdraw the ‘much dignity’ comment if you’d seen her last week; we had rain and she – being a winter pup – experienced it for the first time. She dashed about like a dervish 🙂

Leave a Reply

