LANDs END ROSE & MUSHROOM SAUCE

I signed the liquor store courier’s delivery slip and opened the box to find one of the prettiest bottle/label designs I’ve seen in a long time: it looks, for all the world, like a little lighthouse. 

 

Back at my desk, I went to Google to search for a sauce I could make with Rose, to go with the roast chicken that was happening in my oven.  I had never used Rose in cooking before, being a fairly recent convert to the wine.  Interestingly enough, most results to a search using ‘chicken rose’ were recipes using rose water and rose petals; which I have made a mental note of for future experimentation.

With no satisfying search results, I decided to wing it; Side View was coming for supper and was due any minute:

 

2 punnets mini button mushrooms, caramalised with ginger and olive oil;

2 glasses of Rose wine, simmered until reduced

1 cup chicken stock, simmer again until reduced, with a sprinkle of black pepper

 

I served the chicken on a bed of Woolworths butternut and sage pansotti.  All at the table pronounced it a faultless meal.

In other news; a totally unexpected and delightful surprised popped into my inbox yesterday:

55 thoughts on “LANDs END ROSE & MUSHROOM SAUCE

  1. Yum Yum Yum, I went hope happy and replete. Great food and great people.

    Pity the organic wine I found to try tasted more like the organis fertiliser than wine, but we got over that quite quickly.

  2. H. ad my dinner party tonight – didn’t get the chance to make the eggplant spread, but I will one day soon!. For the main course, I served a wonderful beef-in-beer stew. At the last minute I realized I didn’t have a wine that would go with it, so I ran out and bought – in your honor! – a South African wine (never tried one before). It was a 2009 “Shiraz Pinotage” Cape Blend by Sebeka. Actually, I was very surprised at how lovely it was, very smooth and ended up being a perfect complement to the stew. It was also relatively inexpensive! I also purchased, just in case, one of my old “stand-bys,” an Australian “Yellow Tail” Shiraz – but didn’t even open the bottle – didn’t need to! Be interested in knowing if you know about Sebeka, and what sort of rep they have over there.

  3. Congratulations, Cin! Well done. I also like the Lands End label – nice and cleancut! I have never considered buying rose wine, much less cooking with it. Could you actually taste any difference?

  4. Wow! Congratulations! I new that Spaghetti Carbonara was a winner! love Rose Wine but not on my hubby’s wish list of wines…so if I open a bottle …have to drink the bottle!…There’s also a local rose bubbly…just right also..love bubbles! xx

  5. Yes, I think a B&B would be fabulous…you’d be a wonderful hostess/chef of the inn. I once used a Merlot in a sauce because I was out of white wine. It tasted fabulous but looked a little weird as it turned out a purple/pink!

  6. The Carbonara looks terrific – a deserving winner on the merits of the pictures alone. Good to see the @home chef didn’t win.

    B&Bs/Restaurants all sound nice from the outside, but come with all those pesky issues that spoil ones fun so damn quickly – staff, suppliers, licences, zoning, yada yada yada.

    I’m thinking maybe along the lines of deepercolors’ 2nd suggestion – a recipe book, online recipe catalogue, etc. rather. Even a dedicated fine food, wine and dine blog for local audiences perhaps?

    A future award winning collaboration in the making…

  7. Congrats!

    When we lived on Chincoteague Island, a chef turned the front of her home into a restaurant 2 nights a week. They had seating for about 18 ~ 3 tables of 2 and 3 tables for 4.

    She featured 2-3 entrees a night, and posted the week’s menu outside a few days ahead so people could call and reserve a spot and order in advance.

    She and her husband treated guests as, well, guests.

  8. Gorgeous. Your table always groans with good things.
    The rose thing sounds interesting…tangentially, I’ve always wanted to do that 17th century thing and frost rose petals to use on a cake. Bought the rose water and everything, but you need time for a thing like that. Lots and lots of time.
    Lovely, lovely post as usual. I always love to see what you have put out on your windowsill to cool:-)

  9. It occurred to me that you could offer your culinary services to local charities when they have auctions! You could prepare a menu for from two to a dozen, say, serve it in your home or the bidder’s. I’ll bet that people would flock to bid on a meal prepared and served by you – and it would be a fabulous money maker for a deserving organization.

    I certainly would bid on one of y our feasts! Would you come over here to North Carolina to make and serve it?We’ll make sure you have a nice room to stay in – all three of you!

    Let’s see now – when would be a good day?. . .

  10. Read this on the phone this morning while waiting to have lab work done for the annual physical …had to go before coffee so needless to say did not attempt to write from the phone this time…but now I’ve had cofffee and a lovely dinner…I must admit that this sound better than what I had. 😉

Leave a Reply

