ABOUT THAT TATTOO…

I found this many years ago and – for some reason – kept it folded in the sleeve of the cover of my ID book.  The little scrap of paper is now ragged and threadbare, so I thought I’d share the contents here and throw the paper away:

WIXED MORDS

A backwards poet writes inverse.

A chicken crossing the road is poultry in motion.

You feel stuck to your debt if you can’t budge it.

He often broke into song because he couldn’t find the key.

Every calendar’s days are numbered.

A boiled egg in the morning is hard to beat.

He had a photographic memory that was never developed.

Bakers trade bread recipes on a knead to know basis.

Now I am off – with uncontrollable excitement – to take advantage of a local chain store’s sale on Intimate Apparel; ‘50% off on Branded Corsetry!, but before I go;  because there was such widespread disbelief when I admitted to having a tattoo, a pic of my left shoulder:  (the tattoo is a dragon f.y.i.)

Pic by Natalie Cooper.

And some more quizzy answers; I really must learn to ignore these things and learn to deal with the consequences of appearing rude …

Do you still talk to your FIRST love?
No.

What was your FIRST alcoholic drink?
Coco Rico. There was an unhappy outcome.

What was your FIRST job?
Filling in for my father’s receptionist over the school holidays. 

What was your FIRST car?
A white Alfa Sud.

Who was your FIRST grade teacher?
Mrs. Hartslief.

Where did you go on your FIRST ride on an airplane?
Going along with his club members to take my dad up for a parachute jump at Tempe Airbase.

Who was your FIRST best friend and are you still friends with them?
Lee-Ann Boating. No.

What was your FIRST sport played?
I think I may have tried table tennis, but it may just be a nightmare I had once.

Where was your FIRST sleep over?
At my granny’s house.

Whose wedding were you in the FIRST time?
I was a flower girl, about three years old; the couple is still married.

What was the FIRST thing you did this morning?
Cursed my neighbour’s rooster.

What was the FIRST concert you ever went to?
A ballet performance. 

FIRST tattoo or piercing?
I had my ears pierced when I was fourteen. I am sorry now.  The tattoo happened years later, also very regrettable.

Who was the FIRST person to break your heart?
George de Kock.

52 thoughts on “ABOUT THAT TATTOO…

  1. Oh..my …you do have a tattoo…now that shall make my attempt to fall asleep a bit more difficutl for some reason…I mean ..I just don’t associate you with tattoos for some reason…oh well…good night my friend.

  2. Tats: I grew up with the idea that they were verboten. Otherwise gave them no thought. When our youngest son was about 17 he said “Mom, what would you say if I decided to get a tat?” I said, “I would say ‘I have a fool for a son.'” He said, “No, Mom, really, what would you say?” I answered, “‘I have a REAL fool for a son.'” I went on to wonder at the amount of disposable income he apparently had! Especially since he always claimed poverty!

    It turns out I have a REAL fool for a son, because after his 18th birthday (the one limit I put on his folly!) he got himself a tattoo. He went on to get several more. When he used to ask for money, I’d tell him to cash in his portable art. . .

    Our eldest son also later got a tattoo. But the shocker in all this is that he got it (completely sober) in Thailand! (At the time it was the AIDS capitol of the world). He was over there for about 1-1/2 yrs, teaching English at a small business college in NE Thailand. Oh well.

    I will add that neither of them regrets their decisions. Oh well.

    I will also sheepishly add that I have even considered (only lately) getting one for myself – but a very TINY one on my ankle, or perhaps my shoulder blade area. . .funny what time does to one’s brain! I’m going to attach a link to one of my favorite Saturday Night Live “commercials.” Enjoy! (I understand the link might not work – hope it does! http://www.nbc.com/saturday-night-live/video/turlingtons-lower-back-tattoo-remover/1056744/

  3. The first piece: Clever. Thanks for sharing it. Needed a chuckle! 🙂
    Wixed Mords: also Clever …
    Quiz: Entertaining
    Tattoo: don’t regret it. Fun!

    Amanda: Moxie … from the German, Macht’s Sie – Moxie is a Yiddish word in U.S. Anyway … I’m thinking you guys probably speak Afrikaans, which is a Dutch derivative – No? So maybe you are familiar with this.

    “Moxy” is street parlance with same meaning as the Yiddish Moxie, spirited, gutsy … We also have a soda “Moxie.”

    More than you ever wanted to know … Cultural exchange? I’ve learned so much from you guys … Thanks for that.

    Love you both …

  4. Your Wixed Mords are fantastic! Did you write them one day when your mind was firing, or did you have to work on and collect them?

    As for the tattoo: we all have inside things that would surprise -and sometimes they sneak out!

    Your tattoo glows – you are inked and decent!

    (okay, you can groan…)

Leave a Reply

