DEVILISH APPLES

Tandy’s seasonal ingredient challenge for the week is ‘APPLES’:

http://tandysinclair.com/2010/09/13/something-sweet/

Although she instructed a ‘bake’ I didn’t have the time to think of something to bake, but I have to feed my family, no matter the panic my deadline is causing.  I’ve been strict about spending at least two hours at the end of the day with them, putting work out of my mind and having a good meal with them.

I’d defrosted a pork fillet for last night’s supper and Tandy’s challenge presented the perfect solution to the wrinkling apples in my fruit bowl: a chutney to go with the meat.  Preparation took me all of 5 minutes and the cooking could be left unattended; I put in on the stove at 6am and simply left it to simmer for two hours, while I worked in my study, just returning to the kitchen occasionally to give it a stir and refill my coffee cup.

 

6 red apples, scored and chopped

1 fennel bulb, chopped, including stems and fronds

4 sticks celery, chopped

1 sweet red chilli

2 hot green chillis (I wanted a very spicy chutney to steam away my flu)

1 tablespoon chopped ginger

Salt

2 cups brown sugar

2 cups brown vinegar

1 Bay leaf

 

The end result is a thing of beauty; I plan to have some with my cheddar sandwich later.

43 thoughts on “DEVILISH APPLES

  1. OMG…I am going to make this Cin, looks soooo delicious, dont mind a bit of heat now and then and then the option of some on a cheddar sandwich…bring it on girlfriend!!!! Merlotjie saam met dit? xoxoxoxo Love you lotssssssss xoxoxoxo

  2. Was just sitting here trying to think of what to prepare for dinner…now I know….thank you…I was running out of ideas….hope the work is going well and that you are feeling better.

  3. Pingback: Challenge Round Up « Lavender and Lime

Leave a Reply

