NO HEART ATTACK; LUNCH BREAK CELEBRATION!

ABSENTEE LANDLORD

I’ve treated my body like a step-child,

With the subtle abuse of polite neglect –

Dealt with it like some unknown garage band

Opening for the main event, my mind …

Joanne Hart (2007)

My conscience has been plagued – a gnat constantly buzzing in the background of my mind – for a long time: I am neglecting my body.  Of small build, I have never had to diet, and I’ve never given much thought to taking on an exercise regime.  And there’s the smoking …

An untimely bout of flu hit me yesterday; a frightful nuisance at this busy time.  I self-medicated and got on with my work, but this morning I felt too dreadful; shaky, chest pains and a burning sensation in my left arm.  I rang old Doctor Neighbour and he told me to come over right away.

A thorough examination and an ECG (which he announced was EXCELLENT!) revealed that I was not on the verge of a heart attack; instead he  uesed some fancy name that means a back and neck muscle have been compromised/stressed and they take it out on the muscles of the chest and left arm.  The kindly man then proceded with a lecture; said I needed to walk for at least 25 minutes a day and that it was time to toss the cigarettes.  Good fellow that he is, he stressed the benefits of red wine…

 … and so to lunch …

My five ingredients this week were:

Mussels

Cherry tomatoes

Olives

Chillies

Elephant garlic (see below)

I made the simplest spaghetti Marinara, and added a splash of wine (not truly an ingredient, I wanted to take the afternoon off, have a glass and eat outside).  In accordance with Tandy’s rule that “these 5 ingredients do not include the pasta, olive oil or seasoning”,  I used salt, pepper and dried oregano to season.

 

Elephant garlic (Allium ampeloprasum var. ampeloprasum) is a plant belonging to the onion genus. It is not a true garlic, but actually a variant of the species to which the garden leek belongs. It has a tall, solid, flowering stalk and broad, flat leaves much like those of the leek, but forms a bulb consisting of very large, garlic-like cloves. The flavor of these, while not exactly like garlic, is much more similar to garlic than to leeks. The flavor is milder than garlic, and much more palatable to some people than garlic when used raw as in salads. – Wikipedia.

Related posts:

https://theonlycin.wordpress.com/2010/09/07/tandy-take-5-tuesday-no-2/

https://theonlycin.wordpress.com/2010/09/01/take-5-tandy-tuesday/

http://tandysinclair.com/

54 thoughts on “NO HEART ATTACK; LUNCH BREAK CELEBRATION!

  1. I am glad it was just strain and not a heart attack, like it is is for some of us…

    I definitely relate to the poem, and to the non-thinking ‘neglect’ of my body. At least you respect your body by giving it delicious food!

  2. So glad you’re okay. Heart attacks are nothing to fool around with. Good for you for getting to a doctor right away — many won’t, supposing it to be heart burn, or that ‘it will just go away’. Your lunch sounds lovely. Enjoy today.

  3. so glad that all you need is a massage 🙂 A good walk to visit a neighbour for a glass of wine every afternoon should help. Thanks for a lovely dish, I enjoy using the elephant garlic when I can find it.

    • I sent you an email (your Polka addy) asking your permission before I posted, glad you don’t mind; I’ve been waiting for the perfect opportunity to use it since I read it 🙂

  4. Glad that it was just a “wake up call” for you and nothing more serious.

    I’ve been on the fence about attending an aquatics class this morning. I’d rather sit at the keyboard, drinking coffee. But . . . I’m going to do it.

    And that poem is awesome. Thanks for sharing it.

  5. Gosh that food looks too devine. Why wan’t I invited for lunch? LOL
    Much better than reading boring old CV’s today.
    So glad you’re ok Cin.

    • My sister has been drinking carrot juice (48 oz a day) since October.

      She is slightly orange, but not FREAKISH looking. 8)

      Are carrots good for cigarette cravings . . . or is it just something to munch on and keep your hands busy?

      • I’m not sure, Nancy, I Googled carrots and stopping smoking and didn’t find and good links. I did find this interesting one though:

        carrots to help stop smoking It squashed the rat against Trask’s leg, and Trask fell off his bunk with a stiff thump.
        fnwqv.nxtjx.is.com/

        I think that’s worth writing a story about …

  6. Hey, so glad you’re ok, Cindy! just a little wakeup call… Love the poem; had never heard of elephant garlic – thanks for explaining; and what you said in your reply to aardvarkian’s comment sounds very powerful somehow:

    a smoker who is choosing not to light another cigarette

    Yes, I like that!

  7. I always fight with you about those fags, but know that it is hard for you. We do love you alive and well my Darling, take care and eat lots of sardines, avos and olive oil…..love you always…Rosa

  8. Nice poem, it describes my attitude too. We do tend to take our health for granted, Cin, and as we get older we start to pay… I’m so glad it was nothing serious! Rosa is right about the sardines, avos and olive oil.

  9. Thank heavens for that, Cin. I also need to give up again, but my mind needs to be right again first.
    Nibble on sunflower seeds; they really do help and they’re good for you 🙂

  10. I am so, so glad it was not a heart attack. I am so, so pleased that you took yourself in hand and went direct to the good doctor. Take no chances. Dr. Oz says that if we found a cure for cancer we would save about three percent of the population…that the real life saver is exercise. If you have to forgo healthy habits or routines, this is the last one off the list … Okay, no more lecture … It’s so easy for us as writer’s to be content with pen, paper, and books or their tech equivalents and to forget all else. It’s the good and bad of it …

    Happy, healthy days ahead, Cindy. Breath. Smile. Have a glass of wine…

  11. Do hope that you take some of the good doctor’s advice, I had been given similar advice and did start following it two years ago and it has made a significant difference. Heart attacks in women are quite common and I believe more common than in men…so take good care my friend.

  12. So sorry you’re feeling poorly. Your words are uncanny, I have been thinking the same thing myself. I have let myself go to rack and ruin because the life of the mind is so compelling.

    Get well very soon.

  13. I am also so happy to hear you’re ok my friend…I promise the walking does help so much, it changes your whole outlook and energy levels rises soooo much!! Half an hour is good, and take the doggie with, that makes it so much more fun!! I send you loads of love and know how stressful deadlines can be!! At least they can’t take our red away!! 🙂 Hugs and more hugs xxx

  14. Glad to see you are okay, Cindy…
    I am no doctor, but I like the idea of the 25-minute walk!
    Take care, sweetie… Treat yourself to all the goodies (cigarettes excluded!)

    Hugs…

  15. Brilliant poem, Cin, not to mention gorgeous images! Sorry to hear you’re laid low, but glad it’s not too serious…and that you have a Doctor Neighbour – how handy 🙂

  16. Pingback: Challenge Round Up « Lavender and Lime

Leave a Reply

