MONDAY’S STARK REALITY

I imagined my campers would return ravenous and spent my Sunday morning making lasagna. Feeling much like Sophia Loren, I put on a Verdi record and sang along. For two hours my meat sauce simmered as I set about making the pasta sheets. I grated parmesan into my white sauce, assembled the layers in my favourite dish and delicately sliced mozzarella to make a criss-cross lattice decoration over the top. Terribly pleased with the beautiful result, I set it in my oven to bake just as the car pulled up outside.

There they were, rumpled and scruffy. Camping paraphernalia was carried in, the dogs were allowed to do their mad dash of welcome, get their ears fondled and were given bones brought home from the campfire supper. β€œYou guys must be hungry” I said, but they looked at each other with sheepish grins. It turned out they had spotted a very inviting little bakery en route home …

And so the weekend is behind us and I must face the folly of my sloth. My project deadline means I must set myself the aim of editing at least 60 pages per day for the next week. I will try to visit my blog friends during my coffee breaks, but please forgive me if I am a bit scarce.

19 thoughts on “MONDAY’S STARK REALITY

  1. Business first. Always. But sounds like you had a peaceful weekend … and this post reflects that peace in the way it is paced and the language used. Thank you! Enjoyed much … Have been thinking of doing a lasgna with a white sauce for a change … a bit of nutmeg. Yum!

    Have a good week. No stress!!?? πŸ™‚

  2. I sympathise with you, Cindy. I am the world’s worst procrastinator and always have been. School exam time saw me in just the position you’re in now, lol! I think it was born in me and, no matter how hard I try, I can’t seem to overcome it.

  3. Sounds like you’ve got quite a bit of editing to do over the next week…we will of course miss you…but as Jamie notes…business first. Here’s hoping it all goes as planned.

  4. Ooh that lasagne looks DELICIOUS…which it no doubt was whenever it got eaten! And the nasturtiums are delightful…nature’s antibiotic πŸ™‚ All strength for your project, Cindy!

  5. That is a lot of pages to get through each day… shame man! If I was living close I would bring over some choclates and wine and talk about all the work you have to still do…. *giggle*

Leave a Reply

