GEORGE CLOONEY, MUTTON TIKKA AND JENNY MORRIS

I was trying to be a kind as I could; George Clooney was smothering me with kisses and begging me, almost weeping; “I have to have you or I will simply die!”  As I pushed him away, Stavros the Grocer arrived with my weekly delivery and began to apologise for having no fresh bok choy.  Then Wilson, the Labrador from next door, wandered in and peed on the carpet …

And there you have a perfect lesson on why it is a bad idea to go to sleep to soon after supper.  A heavy belly will give you the strangest dreams.

On a roll with my wraps, I decided to make a mutton and butterbean tikka curry for supper.  I found a better recipe for the wraps here (doesn’t need eggs and delivers a much lighter wrap):

http://cookbook.co.za/baking/roti/

 

I met Jenny Morris through blogging and she’s become a dear friend over the past three years.  We planned a trip to Morocco last year, which sadly didn’t happen and this year, again, I can’t accompany her on her tour of China.  (My mother-in-law’s precarious state of health makes any long-term plans impossible).

http://howzit-hongkong.com/blog/2010/09/01/intercontinental-hong-kong-tour/

Through Jenny, I was introduced to food writer Jackie Passmore’s book ‘Curry Kitchen’; if you like your spice, I can recommend this book.

40 thoughts on “GEORGE CLOONEY, MUTTON TIKKA AND JENNY MORRIS

  1. I have made that same mistake…eating the right things at the wrong time…with the result being the most amazing dreams…well nightmares would be a more appropriate term…and since I had a most reasonable dinner I shall retire…but first must wish you a wonderful day and will visit with you in the morning…good night dear Cindy and thanks for the post.

  2. Bwahahaha – I have never been able to see what other women see in George Clooney. Is there something wrong with me? The roti sound so easy… Thanks Cin. Have a good Friday.

  3. I’m sorry but George Clooney is mine. :-] His family even comes from the same place as my maternal great (great?) grandfather. So Ha!
    (Mayesville KY – USA)
    Isn’t this ridiculous?

  4. Funny dream ~ Bok Choy before Boy Toy!

    I just realized that you are MAKING the wraps, not just stuffing store bought tortillas. That makes my comment from yesterday rather glib sounding to me. : )

  5. Pingback: 13 Pieces of Potpourri « Spirit Lights The Way

  6. I have always wanted to try making my own wraps — when I get back from my motorcycle trip this long weekend I will definitely have to give it a try. The way you write about food and cooking is like a love song. I am inspired!

  7. okay! lol — the lovesong comment was meant to be posted to your mushroom and leek tart recipe — but, consideering you were dreaming about George Clooney. . .

  8. In my dream George Clooney was smothering both Stavros the Grocer and Wilson the Labrador with passionate kisses, and then they all three pee’d on your carpet and went off to a nearby diner where Jenny Morris served them Moroccan butter bean wraps.
    “And that’s a wrap” she giggled.

  9. LOL! Love the way you weave a story, Cin…especially one involving George Clooney 🙂 That curry looks AMAZING! Sorry to hear about your Mom-in-law’s state of health, though. Warmest thoughts about that, x

  10. Hi Cin, Amy have been telling me about your blog. Wonderful. I’ve viewed a few posts when I have time and said to her that you must be Jamaican because you sure cook like one. Love this recipe. As a Jamaican, we love curry mutton and butterbeans. We add potatoes at time instead of the butterbeans.

Leave a Reply

