SPRING BOUNTY

Spring has arrived and She has brought a full basket, wonderful abundance, into my world. This feast-or-famine business of being a freelance writer is dicey, but for now my timesheet is full. Much as I would have liked to celebrate Spring Day yesterday, with a champagne breakfast, I had to be a good girl and keep my head down to meet my deadlines.

The early afternoon brought a wonderful distraction; the Post Office van delivered a parcel sent all the way from Australia by my friend Amanda (our fabulous blogger http://buttercup600.wordpress.com/ ) to my sick little daughter. My child’s glee as she uncovered the treasures inside this parcel was something to behold. At the bottom of the box lay something for me, the biggest cook book I have ever owned:

Of course that put paid to any thought of working for the rest of the afternoon. I took the book out into the garden and contemplated supper. I’d planned a roasted pork fillet, but page 194 yielded a recipe for 3-pepper stir fry that made me drool and seemed just perfect to fill the wraps I had long been wanting to try. I figured that making wraps couldn’t be too different to making pancakes.

I used a recipe I found on http://www.se7en.org.za/ and was thrilled with the results. Look at them lovely puppies:

What a happy meal we had; my family raved:
“Better than Woolworths” said my husband.
“Can I have these for my lunch box every day?” asked the child.

I’m not sure I like the fast development of my child’s sense of humour though … with three new cook books in the past month, she said yesterday, “Mom, people keep sending you these books, I guess they think you can’t cook”. Hmphf!

Thank you Amanda, my life is richer for having you in it.

53 thoughts on “SPRING BOUNTY

  1. How wonderful and what a beautiful gift of a cookbook! It looks like you did an amazing job with those wraps. Okay now I am really getting hungry and am definitely going to have to raid the kitchen…clearly if I want to lose any weight I will have to plan to read your posts with food at dinner time!
    I hope your daughter is feeling better! 😉

  2. Cindy you must be a mind-reader – I have been going to look for a wrap recipe for the last few days, but hadn’t got around to it, and blow me down here it is! Thank you so much. I had one with mealie meal, but didn’t fancy that as I have bought some previously that tasted as though they had mm in and they left me with such a stomach ache…

  3. I would say that they look a perfect 10 hey Cin – hope your daughter is feeling better and what a fab cookbook – look forward to some recipes from it soon (hint hint) ….. Happy Spring xxxxx

  4. So sorry your daughter’s poorly. I always miss mine even though she’s in the room, she’s usually such an exuberant little thing. Maddie, too, adores wraps….we make a rich tomato sauce and use it with chicken….but this one sounds great and looks even better. Thanks Cindy.

  5. Within the pages of every good cookbook is a promise, the promise of an idealized experience, what we really buy is a little dream!! I hope you find many dreams on the pages my dear Cindy….Hugs always xx

  6. Thanks for the link to the wrap recipe!!!!!! (Wow, I take my hat off to THAT woman!!!) Your wraps look magnificent! *whispers* how’d you get them so perfectly round? Did you use a plate?

  7. My cookery books are currently all holding up my bookcase… 🙂
    Brilliant friend and I’m glad OB had fun opening up her parcel because a sick child sure can break your heart.

  8. DELIGHTFUL, Cindy! Wonderful that your writing schedule is so full, and that you still manage to entertain us all so beautifully! Must hop across to visit Buttercup’s blog, right after lunch, since I’m now really hungry 🙂

  9. Orangina!! I LOVE this stuff – especially the dark one – where does one find it? They sold it in Woolworths just long enough to get me hooked – sodding Orangina dealers…

  10. We love wraps. More fun that sandwiches, and just as easy to toss together with veggies, cheese, and {{gulp}} meat. : D

    Beautiful cookbook. I have a Seasons cookbook called Three Bowls (very zen). How sweet of Buttercup to send goodies to you and Bunn.

    Glad Bunn’s feeling enough better to start cracking jokes.

  11. Hi Cin, just a quick pop in – am PLANNING to blog today (if work allows)…but on this post, I have an absolute fascination with a recipe book (I think I own about 40 already), but the most recent one I bought is an Australian publication with the most amazing chocolate recipes in it, called The Gourmet Traveller – Chocolate. It is super! My mum’s most treasured one is an old ‘n tatty copy of The Housewive’s League.
    Hope OB gets better soon xxx

  12. Hay Thanks for linking our wraps!!! Yours look so fantastic!!! Ours are always child made and can be quite… ummmm, haphazard!!! So great to see them looking so professional!!! Hope you have a fun weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

