SOURIS D’AGNEAU AUX FEVES

I believe that it is the romantic traveler visiting France that has given further meaning to the word bistro – using it to conjure up a simple but perfectly balanced French meal, using local seasonal produce, served in a quaint environment with charm.
-Fran Warde ‘New Bistro’

I am an unabashed Francophile and am finding this new book a bit of a holiday. This is my first recipe from it, I’ve always cooked lamb in either the Greek or North African way and I was quite surprised to find that Warde has used white wine in it. Given that we’re having such a splendidly sunny weekend, I caved in and had a glass while I popped in and out between the garden and the kitchen.

1 tbs olive oil
4 lamb shanks
Sea salt & freshly ground pepper
2 onions, sliced
2 garlic gloves, chopped
1 bouquet garni (parsley, rosemary, French chives and bay leaves)
400ml white wine
8 new potatoes
400g shelled broad beans (couldn’t find these anywhere, so I used green beans)
2 tbs chopped mint
3 tbs crème fraiche

180C, I roasted the seasoned meat for 20 minutes, then added the bouquet garni, onions and garlic to the pan and roasted for a further 20 minute.
Next, I added the wine and potatoes, mixing with the juices in the pan, another 20 minutes.
(I veered from the recipe at this point and let the lamb stand for an hour)
I then added the beans and cooked for 10 minutes, before moving the roaster to my hob and bringing the juices to a boil, and stirred in the chopped mint and crème fraiche.

C’était délicieux, le ciel!

16 thoughts on “SOURIS D’AGNEAU AUX FEVES

  1. That looks wonderful! I’m surprised at the white wine as well, you naturally assume red wine with red meat, interesting.

  2. Cin, Not once in my life have I had this thought before ‘meeting’ you. Your husband and daughter do not come home for dinner; they arrive for their daily gastronomic adventure.

  3. I’m a bit of a chicken about lamb but cooking is another obsession of mine….I’m tempted to try this soon. The French are so amazing at combining flavours. The best meal I ever had was at a Dijon cafe one evening about 15 years ago. The lamentable thing is, I didn’t know much about food then and couldn’t tell you what I was eating. But I still remember the flavours…

Leave a Reply

