DOES THIS OUTFIT MATCH?

I knew that asparagus and artichokes could not be paired with any wine, and wanted to find factual verification on the internet. I was most surprised when my top search results told me that Korean food could not be matched with wine. And there I’ve spent all those happy hours quaffing the expensive stuff on the Cranks wine list.

“I love Korean food, but it’s hard to have any kind of wine with it unless you have a Vinho Verde or something that’s really high in acid…the acidity in kimchee just kills wine and it’s all over.” Rajat Parr (What to Drink with What you Eat)

Found a very nice website; http://www.musingonthevine.com where I found these handy hints to include in the scrapbook I’m making for my daughter:
The Five Rules for Matching Wine with Food
1. Look for compatible weights and bodies. The essence of this rule embodies the age old ‘red wine with red meat, white wine with fish and white meat”. In its simplest form, make sure the weight and body of the dish is consistent with the weight and body of the wine.
2. Look for compatible acidity levels. When pairing food with wine make sure that the acidity level in both are about the same. A good example is a dish like lemon chicken paired with a high acid Vernaccia from Italy.
3. Look for complementary flavors and complexities. Food and wine shouldn’t fight one another for your attention. Instead they should help one another achieve synergy, complimenting each other’s best traits. NOTE – There is a corollary to this rule that suggests looking for contradictory, but balancing flavors and complexity. If done correctly, the wine and food match will work, but this approach is much more complex and demands that the chef really knows the dish and the wine very well. Approach the corollary with caution.
4. When matching wine to a food with a pronounced sauce, pair to the flavors in the sauce. When pairing wine with food, make sure you match according to the strongest traits of each. In a fruit glacé-type sauce one would look for a wine with forward and overt fruitiness to pair best.
5. When matching wine to a food without a pronounced sauce, pair to the flavors in the main ingredient. This is really a re-statement of rule four, except emphasizing that in the absence of a strong sauce, look to the flavor characteristics of the main ingredient instead.

But rules are made to be broken eh? Nothing will stop me enjoying my Merlot with tonight’s asparagus pasta.

And, while we’re on the subject:

A real man is a woman’s best friend.

He will never stand her up and never let her down.

He will reassure her when she feels insecure and comfort her after a bad day.

He will inspire her to do things she never thought she could do; to live without fear and forget regret.

He will enable her to express her deepest emotions and give in to her most intimate desires.

He will make sure she always feels as though she’s the most beautiful woman in the room and will enable her to be the most confident, sexy,seductive and invincible.

No wait… sorry…

I’m thinking of wine.

It’s wine that does all that. 🙂

21 thoughts on “DOES THIS OUTFIT MATCH?

  1. I always think Indian food is better with beer and not wine – same for Mexican. I think it’s the strong flavours -but rules are made for breaking and everyone should drink what they like not what John Platter says!
    Have a great weekend – have the pot washed, ready for you this evening!

  2. You might want to alter this if you are submitting it to FTLOW, NicoleW did the same joke yesterday. I don’t think I have ever eaten Korean food.

  3. I don’t think all our tastebuds are the same. Whatever tastes good for you is OK I think. I used to prefer a good red, but am now really enjoying a crisp white a la MM!

  4. I get immediate and sever headaches as soon as I take a few sips of vino – thought I use it in cooking and no problem – but I’ve always wondered how to pair and never looked into it. This is great. Usually, when I have company, I just work with my local merchant to match things up. He’s done okay by me according to guests.

    Great post as always. Love the idea of the scrapbook for your daughter. Wonderfu.

  5. And then there’s Ogden Nash:

    A Word to Husbands

    To keep your marriage brimming,
    With love in the loving cup,
    Whenever you’re wrong, admit it;
    Whenever you’re right, shut up.

  6. Pingback: The Bottle of Wine « Spirit Lights The Way

Leave a Reply

