OXTAIL LIKE THE GRANNY MADE

Jenny Crwys-Williams spoke about expensive wines on her radio show a while back. Apparently the most expensive South African wine is a Rust en Vrede Pinotage retailing at R1200 a bottle. I nonetheless managed to enjoy my R57 Fleur du Cap last night, but relegated the R35 bottle of Robertson to my cooking pot.

La coda di bue come la nonna ha cucinato …

Some years back I met an Italian family and became quite enchanted with the grandmother of the clan. She seems to live in the kitchen; I don’t think I have ever seen her anywhere else, except in the garden on summer days when meals are eaten outside on their patio.

La Nonna does all the family’s cooking and is never fancy with it; her pastas are rough hewn, her sauces chunky and her bread is picture-book peasant stuff. She taught me to add olives to an oxtail stew and that’s the way I’ve made it ever since. Her version of the stew is what she calls ‘knife and fork food’ rather than ‘spoon stew’.

There are leftovers …

Trivia: celery is a natural meat tenderiser.

19 thoughts on “OXTAIL LIKE THE GRANNY MADE

  1. And I thought the delicacies learned from the slave cuisine by we U.S. Southerners was hard to swallow. But, apparently peasants on your side of the pond…left a soulful mark on what’s food for the soul…though, personally, I can’t really do the whole “Slave Born Soul Food Thing”:

    When I was younger, running with an Afro-American Buddy, and drinking in country “Juke – Joints” enabled my pallet to swallow “Texas Pete Saturated Breaded and Deep Fried Chittlins” Once!!! …then a guy drew a sawed off 410 shot gun from beneath his coat, and blew the guy next to me’s head off…and I have NEVER had a taste for chittlins again… Nor could I ever do the oxtail…thing…
    God Bless you
    paul

  2. Winter food… love oxtail almost as much as I love steak and kidney pudding and tripe and onions, curried or in white sauce. I have missed out on all these this year! Well, I’ll just have to make a plan… I can’t imagine olives in the oxtail though…

  3. As a child I recall my mother preparing ox tail….I never …for one reason or another… tasted it…and found that with the right manners…one could avoid eating anything that seemed questionable. 😉

  4. My late husband was the one to convince me to eat oxtail (he was the best cook!!) and since, I’m addicted!!!! Have never tried it with olives though…now let me tell you…the hardest thing is to try and convince the Aussies to eat oxtail…they RUN!!!! …DON’T KNOW WHAT THEY’RE MISSING…RIGHT CIN?

  5. I have never had oxtails, (nor do I think I want to) *slight grin*. My grandfather, who was British, ate some mighty strange (to me) things. Things like: tripe, kidneys, and warm, fresh blood (the story is a bit un-nerving). However, my worst memory is the day he ate a boiled pig’s head with cabbage and onions. When he cut into it. . . thank god their bathroom was close at hand!

  6. Now this is interesting. Never had oxtails prepared that way and first husband was Italian. Have to work out this one and try it on family. Did know celery was a meat tenderizer. Good to know… Thanks, Cindy.

Leave a Reply

