A WINE-LOVER’S QUIZ

I sorted my magazine rack this weekend, in a mad flurry of Spring fever. Of course I got distracted and dipped into some of the old mags. I found this interview on the inside-back page of a 2008 edition of WINE magazine and thought it would be nice to read the other bloggers’ answers to the questions.

Here are mine:

WHAT WAS THE FIRST BOTTLE OF WINE THAT ALL MADE SENSE AND WHY?
It was Nedeburg Edelkeur, around the mid-eighties. My aunt served it with the dessert course at a family lunch and I immediately understood why it worked so well.

WHAT WAS YOUR MOST MEMORABLE WINE EXPERIENCE?
A private wine tasting in the Bergkelder’s Cellar, with the Fleur du Cap Brand Manager and one of the winemakers. I tasted some private reserve wines that blew me away.

WHAT WINE HAVE YOU NOT YET TASTED BUT MOST WANT TO?
Chateau Mouton-Rothschild, (of which there are only 25000 cases per year!)
I’ve had Dom Perignon and Moet several times, but I would also like to taste Mumm.

YOUR LAST WINE PURCHASE?
On Saturday morning I bought a case of Umfiki Cabernet Sauvignon. A Gold Medal 2009 Michelangelo International Wine Awards winner; it was on sale at my local for 26.99 a bottle. I also bought two bottles of Desiderius Pongracz.

HOW BIG IS YOUR WINE COLLECTION AND WHERE IS IT STORED?
I don’t really have a collection. At the moment I have about 20 bottles of wine. They’re stored on the bottom shelf of one of my kitchen cupboards.

WHICH ARE YOUR FAVOURITE SOUTH AFRICAN WINE PRODUCERS?
Difficult question to answer. I am loyal to Fleur du Cap and – obviously – Kleine Zalze will now also always have a special place in my heart. The Chocolate Block from Boekenhoutskloof is really special too. And then there are Meerlust, Allesverloren, Thelema … eish, we really are spoilt for choice in this country!

WHAT WAS YOUR MOST EMBARRASSING WINE MOMENT?
When my first husband proposed to me, he put the ring in a glass of champagne. I took a sip and saw the ring in the glass and had such a fright that a sprayed my mouthful all over the table.

WHAT DO YOU LIKE LEAST ABOUT WINE?
I can’t find a single answer to that. Perhaps the fact that it is money spent with nothing to show for it afterwards?

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE MEAL?
One which I have prepared for an appreciative eater.

WHAT ARE YOUR FAVOURITE RESTAURANTS IN SOUTH AFRICA?
Currently Wombles in Parktown North / Johannesburg and Catharina’s at Steenberg / Cape Town.

WHICH THREE PEOPLE WOULD YOU INVITE TO YOUR FANTASY DINNER PARTY?
Count Nicholas Czardas, Quentin Crisp and Jenny Crwys-Williams.

16 thoughts on “A WINE-LOVER’S QUIZ

  1. Cin…I love love love this and will most definately use this at some stage too….god I would love to answer all these questions too!!!!!!!!!!! This is wonderful….think I’ll have a sleepless night now just thinking about this!! Soooo very intesting…just like YOU my friend !! xx

  2. My most memorable wine experience: a bottle of Moet & Chandon to celebrate a victory in court.

    What I like least about wine: the tanins, which cause my head to explode in pain (even when I have not over-indulged).

  3. Can’t respond to this much . I have had a Spanish Rioja that was OK and a Pinot Noir that I wouldn’t kick out of the bed, but I don’t really care for it at all. It’s a taste I really haven’t acquired. And in Northern California that is a real handicap. Sorry, can’t add any more than that.

  4. `lo there, I have about twenty bottles….stored in a winerack I made while redoing the kitchen a while ago…..and although we have marriage relations that makes wine in the Napa valley in California I do not have any from there…..

  5. Cindy, I don’t know many wines from South Africa but I will learn ! My favorite white wine is the Gewurtztraminer from Elsass (deliciously fruity). The Syrah and Pinot Noir are red wines I like too. In Summertime I enjoy now and then a cool Rosé de Provence or a Dôle Blanche from my home state, Valais in Switzerland. My last wine purchase was for my Dad´s birthday, last Sunday : an Ermitage from our area. He loved it and we did too 🙂

    • I am so pleased that you appreciate Gewurtztraminer, here in SA it is often a misunderstood wine and few people realise that the aromatic flavours make itone of the few wines that are suitable for drinking with Asian cuisine. It goes well with Hirtenkäse, Münster cheese, and fleshy, fatty wild game. Smoked salmon is a particularly good match.
      Ermitage is very good, lucky Dad 🙂

Leave a Reply

