NOSTALGIC SUNDAY

Nostalgia reigned supreme yesterday, our local radio station presented the songs voted by listeners as the top 100. I’d put a boneless sirloin in the oven, covered with celery, red peppers and rosemary (which I would later liquidise as a sauce for the meat) and went out into the garden to potter around. I had an audience; very interested in my every move. Sometimes it’s so important to take stock, to count my blessings.

And today? It’s National Women’s Day here in South Africa and we commemorate the national march of women on this day in 1956 to petition against legislation that required African persons to carry the “pass”, special identification documents which curtailed an African’s freedom of movement during the apartheid era.

100. The Best Tina Turner 99. Charlie Rabbitt 98. Sweet Home Alabama Lynyrd Skynyrd 97. Sugar Baby Love Rubettes 96. The Logical Song Supertramp 95. Crimson and Clover Tommy James & the Shondels 94. I Wonder Rodriguez 93. Smoke Gets in your Eyes The Platters 92. Cracklin’ Rosie Neil Diamond 91. Love Hurts Nazareth 90. Those were the Days Mary Hopkin 89. Rose Garden Lynn Anderson 88. I’d love you to want me Lobo 87. I can see clearly now Johnny Nash 86. Annie’s Song John Denver 85. I Will Survive Gloria Gaynor 84. Suspicious Minds Elvis Presley 83. Layla Derek and the Dominos 82. Substitute Clout 81. Morning Has Broken Cat Stevens 80. Rock around the Clock Bill Haley & the Comets 79. I don’t like Mondays Boomtown Rats 78. Cry to me Staccatos 77. I got you babe Sonny & Cher 76. Living next door to Alice Smokie 75. Black Magic Woman Santana 74. Angie Rolling Stones 73. Killing Me Softly with his Song Roberta Flack 72. Sweet Caroline Neil Diamond 71. Burning Bridges Mike Curb Congregation 70. Hello Lionel Richie 69. Lady Kenny Rogers 68. Music John Miles 67. The games people play Joe South 66. Young girl Gary Puckett 65. American Pie Don Mclean 64. Smoke on the Water Deep Purple 63. Suite Judy Blue Eyes Crosby Stills & Nash 62. Bright Eyes Art Garfunkel 61. Fernando Abba 60. Wild Thing Troggs 59. Green green grass of home Tom Jones 58. When a man loves a woman Percy Sledge 57. Careless Whisper Wham! 56. My Way Frank Sinatra 55. Wonderful Tonight Eric Clapton 54. Forty Days Cliff Richard 53. Night Fever Bee Gees 52. All out of love Air Supply 51. Brown Eyed Girl Van Morrison 50. Silence is Golden The Tremeloes 49. Seasons in the Sun Terry Jacks 48. Hopelessy devoted to you Olivia Newton-John 47. California Dreamin’ Mamas & Papas 46. Dance with my Father Luther Vandross 45. Paradise Road Joy 44. For your precious love The Flames 43. More than a feeling Boston 42. Buffalo Soldier Bob Marley and the Wailers 41. Good Vibrations Beach Boys 40. Horse with no name America 39. Dancing Queen Abba 38. Oh Pretty Woman Roy Orbison 37. You Peter Maffay 36. Unforgettable Natalie Cole and Nat King Cole 35. Long Cool Woman in a Black Dress The Hollies 34. I want to know what love is Foreigner 33. The wonder of you (live) Elvis Presley 32. American Trilogy Elvis Presley 31. Vincent Don Mclean 30. Sugar Sugar The Archies 29. (Sittin’ on) the Dock of the Bay Otis Redding 28. Three times a lady The Commodores 27. Words Bee Gees 26. Love me do The Beatles 25. Bad Moon Rising Creedence Clearwater Revival 24. I just called to say I love you Stevie Wonder 23. San Francisco Scott Mckenzie 22. The Living Years Mike & the Mechanics 21. MacArthur Park Richard Harris 20. Eloise Barry Ryan 19. What a Wonderful World Louis Armstrong 18. He ain’t Heavy The Hollies 17. Baker Street Gerry Rafferty 16. The Young Ones Cliff Richard 15. Jailhouse Rock Elvis Presley 14. Mammy Blue Charisma 13. Lady in Red Chris de Burgh 12. Piano Man Billy Joel 11. Nights in White Satin Moody Blues 10. Sounds of Silence Simon & Garfunkel 9. House of the Rising Sun The Animals 8. Hey Jude The Beatles 7. Bridge over Troubled Water Simon & Garfunkel 6. A Whiter Shade of Pale Procul Harum 5. Unchained Melody Righteous Brothers 4. Stairway to Heaven Led Zeppelin 3. Hotel California The Eagles 2. Bohemian Rhapsody Queen 1. Imagine John Lennon

36 thoughts on “NOSTALGIC SUNDAY

  1. Awwww…with your permission, I’d like to make a copy of all those songs…love it so and I’m forever looking for new music on my blog and it’s hard!!!! We are blessed my dear friend….who can resist your audience!!! I just love that picture so much…and I won’t even go to the sirlion. I could come to your house any day!!! Care to share a Merlot?….xx

  2. Love the list! I see Cleo is still the Queen of the castle – fitting for Women’s Day today. The newbie (sorry, don’t remember his name) looks just like a little goat in your photo. 😆 🙄

  3. Thanks for giving us that list, Cin. What an interesting and eclectic list it is, too! It was fun going through and humming or singing a few bars from each–minus a very few I did not recognize.

    Made my day!

  4. Yes, what Rik said.
    I found my self singing the first line or two of about 90% of the songs.

    Like you, there are a few that surprised me ~ don’t see them as top 100 songs, and more than a few faves from my teens that didn’t make the list. Quite a nice list, overall.

    As I read through the titles, I felt like a teenager again, hanging out in my bedroom, flat on my back, feet propped up on the wall, singing along with the weekly top 100 count down by Kasey Kacum.

    Thanks for the nostalgic look back.

    BTW: Love the “agave flowers” that you have sitting next to the Merlot. Is that what they are? And how long do they last once plucked? They’re beautiful.

    I went to Cin’s Garden Party
    To meet with some new friends
    A chance to share our thoughts on life
    And drink Merlot, again

    Cheers!

  5. Hi Cindy, just popped in to make myself known once more. Loved the picture of your ‘watchers’! They’re gorgeous. The list took me way back — thanks for the memories.

  6. Wonderfully nostalgic, thanks Cindy. Love your photo’s too, they really paint a picture!

    Thx to you too, Nancy, such a sweetie…it’s been a lot of fun celebrating Women’s Day online 🙂

Leave a Reply

