SUPERSTITION

I’ve wasted seven bags of salt;
a handful flung for each small spill,
supposedly keeping the devil at bay.
My granny said I should!

I’ve lost the chance to meet my fortune,
all because of old wive’s tales:
I’ll never venture past the garden gate
if the thirteenth falls on Friday in the month.

I’ve followed folklore’s fussy warning
and spent several silly hours looking daft;
dodging the cracks in the pavements
and hammering horseshoes to my lintel.

Yes, I know that it is true; superstitions
have made me act foolish, but the teachings
of old must surely have merit and what
dangers may lurk if I dare to ignore…

©Cindy Taylor 2008

13 thoughts on “SUPERSTITION

  1. Seems like worldwide such superstitions have developed to afford protection from one thing or another…I’ve often wondered where the black cat crossing your path one came from…some do make sense…but that one? Enjoyed you post as always.

  2. hmm… so looks like you will be home next Friday.. it is the 13th after all! 😉

    Yea.. the black cat crossing the street has seen many men/women wait for others to pass them before they take the next step… I am sure those cats too have wondered what the heck’s going on here.. 🙂

    Aaarrgghhh..these superstitions .. I hate ’em…but… ahem.. I too give in to them at times.. .

    LOVED this read!! 🙂

  3. Nice to meet you Cindy South, from Cindy North (according to Tracy)

    I can so relate. I grew up with two superstitious Grandmothers. Every found penny goes into my shoe, each first star at night is wished upon and doors open and close each New Years Eve to name a few. So many rules to live by!

  4. Keeping up traditions, huh? Can’t hurt. If the grannies are watching, they’ll be happy . . . so maybe not foolish at all … Hope you had a good weekend, Cindy. Thanks for stopping by the blog.

  5. LOL, this is funny. Never would have thought the girl so prolific she must be writing in her sleep would be hesitant of anything. But, like you said, many must have merit, as they say all legend is based on SOME sort of truth. The one you mentioned about Friday the 13th, I think you can leave off of the list of phobias unless you happen to be a 14th century Templar Knight, an then if you venture beyond the gate the Pope might get you. Believe it or not, there is a name for phobia of Friday the Thirteenth, and what a name it is: Friggatriskaidekaphobia…yeah, lol . I’m not saying that you actually have a phobia to it, just messing with ya. But, as far as the Friday the Thirteenth superstition, other than the mass arrest and murders of the many Knights Templar on that date in 1307,the oldest legend seems to come from Norse Mythology, and has to do with Witches. Frigga meaning Friday, and Friday long since thought of as the Sabbath of Witches. Anyway, I think you’re safe, but, then, I always remember, and usually abide by many of my late grannies admonishing also. God Bless you
    paul

  6. This is really wonderful, Cin! But I will say that one of the first things that came to my mind was a Larson cartoon. You see a multi-storied building, and in the windows are women in bed in various stages of medical treatment – traction, casts, all sorts of things. The building is a hospital called: “Hospital for Mothers of Children who Stepped on the Cracks.” Love it!

Leave a Reply

