MAKE-ME-BETTER-BEANS

“If you treat a sick child like an adult and a sick adult like a child, everything usually works out pretty well”

Ruth Carlisle

Everyone is sick in my house: Old Spouse, Original Bunn and Our Alice have flu and I am the sole hale and hearty one, which bears testimony to the medicinal merits of daily Merlot.

This is a time when only plain old food will do, and my make-me-better-beans (so named when my child was about three years old) are just the thing.

1 packet dried white ‘haricot’ beans, soaked overnight

1 chicken carcass (leftover roast)

5 litres water

2 bay leaves

2 chicken stock cubes

1 stem celery, chopped including leaves

1 large onion, finely chopped

1 large knob butter

200 ml vermouth

6 baby potatoes, skin on, halved

6 cherry tomatoes, halved

1 packet baby ‘chef’s’ carrots

1 handful chopped parsley

Boil the beans, carcass, stock cubes and bay leaves for three hours. Allow to cool and remove chicken skin and bones. (At this stage your pot looks like the contents of a sewer, don’t fret).

In a small saucepan, sauté the onion in butter until soft (don’t brown) add the vermouth and reduce by half. Allow to cool and liquidize using a stick blender.

Add the onion puree to the bean pot, added celery, potatoes, tomatoes, carrots and parsley.

Bring to a slow boil and allow to simmer for an hour. (By this stage the liquid will have reduced to a consistency of gravy, it should not look like a soup).

Season with cayenne pepper before serving.

Feed the sick and go off and have yourself a glass of wine.

26 thoughts on “MAKE-ME-BETTER-BEANS

  1. Pingback: MAKE-ME-BETTER-BEANS (via The only Cin) « Life as a Writer and Artist

  2. Now that sounds like my kinda cookin…I want some…strangely also brings to memory one of the recent “Top Chef” episodes, wherein one of the “Judges” asked a contestant who had prepared a dish containing a topping of beans,( in a 45 minute time limit challenge) “Did you cook the beans fresh from the bag” ?
    Duh!!

    Well, no, I grew them picked them, shelled them, soaked them and THEN cooked them…of course would have been my answer…

    Which by the way Cin…I think you know me well enough by now to get this…
    While browsing a few Antique, and collectible sites where I have a few of my own items posted for sale…I ran across a familiar posting slogan on a few listings that I quickly realized was from the same seller. The catch phrase was ( item comes from a non-smoking, pet free home) a little annoying after a while.

    For some reason however it inspired me to go back and edit a few of my own listed items to sell, and this is a copy from one:

    Home crafted art sculpture of civil war canon and soldier, displaying the Confederate flag: ( By the way, item comes from a Pet Filled, Smoke Filled, Beer Drankin barn, right next to the double wide mansion off of Halltown Road…serious inquirers only need to apply.

    Can I get a second helping of that ” Carcass Cure All Stew” ?

      • Thank you … I like it…Cure All Carcass stew… once read an M.D.’s report as his only suggested possible cure for the common cold…a bowl of Cindy Taylor’s Chicken Bean stew…no wait, that wasn’t it… But, it was Chicken Soup, ” But only the home-made variety” he said…

        And your recipe sounds just like home sweet home to me…

  3. Nothing in this world that a good Merlot can’t cure…I hope everyone in your family feels better pretty soon (die maak my beter boontjies sal die ding doen)…en hoop dis nie te koud nie maatjie….cheers ‘n glasie op my vanaand….ek doen dit op hierdie oomblik!! ching-ching!!! Liefde oxoxox

  4. All wined up eh ? 😉
    Ooohh la la… my apologoes for this crude talk…
    Pardonnez moi, s’il vous plait.. Avez-vous goûté du vin? 🙂

    The bean soup looks real interesting though… I don’t intend on falling ill though…
    On a more serious note, take care.. and stay well-vaccined! 🙂

  5. Oh my. This is wonderful. So much more hearty than the more typical chicken noodle soup. And it’s naturally wheat-and-gluten free. Thank you! Good pix too.

    Would you mind if I did the repost thing on it, Cin. Let me know … Just wonderful . . .

    Hope all are on the mend now . . . Toast to you with a glass of Merlot!

  6. Pingback: MAKE-ME-BETTER-BEANS (via The only Cin) « MUSING BY MOONLIGHT

Leave a Reply

