RAMSAY SAY, RAMSAY DO.

I like Tana Ramsay, I love her calm demeanour, admire her style of parenting and I love her cook books.

Her potty-mouthed husband is another story altogether and I couldn’t help but have a frisson of schadenfreude when I read about the string of misfortunes that have befallen him. In late 2008, it emerged that he’d been enjoying a 7-year-long side dish; an affair with some publicity-hungry piece of crumpet.

7 years is a long time and can’t be written of as an ill-conceived roll in the hay,
but our Tana weathered the storm and the story quietly went away. (That rhymes!)

The incident is glossed over in just one sentence in an expletive-riddled, 8 page feature on the chef in the August edition of Woolworths Taste magazine, which focuses more on his financial misadventures, mentions past cosmetic surgery, (in the past to his chin and in the future on his scrotum) and puts an unconvincing spin on Gordon going forward as “a slightly kinder man, and a slightly humbled one, which will be accurate depictions.” Says Angela Hartnett, who has worked with Ramsay for 15 years: “People don’t like the aggression so much. They no longer want to see him or Simon Cowell make people cry.”

We’ll have to wait and see. In the meantime, we watch his past behaviour on currently airing shows and witness a crass bully in action; a nasty man without respect for either his staff or his audience; an ogre with the vocabulary of a sewer rat.

I can’t say I’m holding my breath.

37 thoughts on “RAMSAY SAY, RAMSAY DO.

  1. Sheesh…though I’ll admit the Gordo was lookin a little ragged in the cheeks during his last 2008 show that I saw… He’s still kicken butt, and changing QuAZanes>>>He’s de Man…just my I-pinion…and I’m sticken to it…

    • Many people – and chef’s aren’t gods – get angry and manage to control their language. If someone can’t string a sentence together without cursing … well, that’s just rude. I’m sticking to that 🙂

  2. My daughter and I also love the Tana Ramsay cook books. WE just bought one. They seem to have lovely kids too but I don’t think I could live with Gordon for 30 minutes.

  3. I do agree however, that he would be much more received with much less “Bleeping” … Still, he’s earned the overall “top chef” acclimation in my cook book, and, once seen through reality clear lenses, rather than holly-weird rose colored ones…has a heart as big as France.

  4. I have not read the article yet – but he is a potty mouthed, inspiring chef. I love the way he cooks even if he is not a brilliant businessman. Have a super day 🙂

  5. Ditto Cin and I am of the belief that his f-ing and blinding permeates his food … food cooked under stress!!!! Nah – not good and as for his wife – surely she must be up for some “Noble” award or something. have a great day Cin xxx jan

  6. I am a collector of cookbooks….and have to say that I have all of Ramsay’s cookbooks (and Tana’s) but also cannot agree with his fowl mouth and mannerisms…I do love his recipes though. It’s a sad senario IMHO. oxoxox Have a good day girlfriend oxox

    • I was a collector, a rabid collector, but I ran out of space for the books, so I made myself stop buying. Luckily my husband doesn’t know this and still surprises me with new ones often 🙂

  7. I did a post not so long ago….
    http://www.my-easy-cooking.com/2010/05/gordon-ramay-i-may-not-like-you-but-you.html

    My husband asked me on Sunday if I am happy he failed here in CT or am I glad his bad temper finaaly caught up to him….
    I’m sad, because some of the people in his restaurant were breadwinners and maybe they are without jobs now

    I do’nt know how he could teach other restauranteurs about being good businessmen…..kitchen nightmare if you ask me…!

  8. Stand up for decency, compassion and respect, is the Lead SA motto – I certainly don’t think Gordon Ramsay has stood up for these values. I want to make a difference in the world –
    I don’t want to have him as a role model for my business, my life, my cooking or my children. Success is more than money and fame.

  9. Having never enjoyed the whole idea of the (un)-“reality programs,” I can’t say I know anything about him except what I have read – and usually I stop reading as soon as I get to that subject. . .I couldn’t care less (which is zero)! On TV ads promoting these types of shows, I see a lot of rude behavior – by all participants, but usually the “host.” (Wow – is that a misnomer!) My youngest son’s comment (he’s 31) on these types of shows, is that they supposedly are “preparing young people, or fresh-starters” for absolutely nothing. The world does not behave episodically, nor is it divided into winners and losers. I cannot imagine why anyone, unless it was purely for their 15 minutes of fame would expose themselves to that sort of abuse.

  10. I refuse to watch Hell’s Kitchen.

    I don’t want to spend my free time watching a rooster with an overblown sense of importance strutting around bullying underlings just be he can.

  11. He scares me. He is mean, foul-mouthed, rude and his face looks like plastic. You’d have to put a gun to my head to make me watch one minute of his show. Just sayin’….

  12. He is crass but his methods work in kitchens. Sometimes things become a bit too complacent in there and need to be sorted out. But I agree, there are better ways of getting your message across

Leave a Reply

