SIDE VIEW’S WEEKEND CHALLENGE : A SECRET

In the dark
In the darkness you will find
Dirty little secrets we all hide
Cause’ we all have a darker side
A place we keep where no one else will find

Secrets – Good Charlotte

During the Christmas period of 2008 and my birthday in January 2009, I was lucky to receive many bookshop gift vouchers and spent hours selecting my purchases. One voucher was for Exclusive Books and off I went to the branch at Longbeach Mall to fetch some arbitrary novel I’d asked them to reserve. The price of the novel left change of R250 odd from the voucher, so I browsed around and chanced upon a fat little book, filled with post cards. Fascinated, I read that the book was one of a series; Frank Warren had started a project inviting people to send their deepest secrets, on post cards (anonymously) for public exhibition. The thinking behind this was his philosophy that a secret shared leads to healing.

The postcards are moving in the extreme and deal with diverse topics. Some are funny, some are simply heartbreaking, some examples:

I’m jealous of her baby.

There is a Skittle on the bathroom floor at my job. Every time I go pee, I am tempted to eat it.

I can’t tell my mom about the rape … she wouldn’t want to know. And it kills me.

I believe I will accomplish something truly great in the lifetime. I will be 53 tomorrow.

I only love one of my children.

And this one, which I would like to give as a bumper sticker to a lot of men I know:

I’d gladly trade in this car to have a BIG penis.

For more, go to http://postsecret.blogspot.com/

17 thoughts on “SIDE VIEW’S WEEKEND CHALLENGE : A SECRET

  1. What a great way to end my day. Thanks, Cin!

    These really do run the gamut . . . but one made me laugh outloud. I’ll never look at Skittles the same way again. ; )

  2. I love the bumper sticker (for those men who think they are God’s gift…). What a lovely idea of the postcards!

    Btw, I have left a gift for you on my site – thanks!

  3. I bet it’s an interesting read. Do you remember there was a blog on 24.com where people could tell their secrets?

  4. Wow. The one about being jealous of her baby and the other one about only loving one child…that really hit me. I don’t know why, I’m not a parent. I think it struck something at the core of my woman-ness or something, my mothering instinct perhaps? Very moving. Thanks for sharing. And, like the secret about the skittle, I have similar thoughts about yummy little things dropped on the kitchen floor. But then my inner voice screams, ‘dont go there!’

Leave a Reply

