SUNDAY AND NOT MUCH TO SAY

A bit blocked for ideas, I decided to play with the Proust Questionaire that occupies the last page of Vanity Fair magazine, before I settle down and tackle the final edit of my current project and get ready to commence the new one. Feel free to do this too if, like me, the weekend laziness is still lingering.

What is your current state of mind?
Vaguely uneasy, with a sense that there is something important I have forgotten to attend to; some unfinished business.

What is your idea of perfect happiness?
To be in a state of complete and graceful peace; free of any animosity, worry or guilt. Good health, a kitchen and a computer.

What or who is the greatest love of your life?
My child.

What is the quality you most like in a man?
Honour: a scrupulous sense of what is right; a high standard of moral behaviour or integrity.

What is the quality you most like in a woman?
Being able to stand on her own two feet and not depending on a man for her livelihood.
“Never grow a wishbone, daughter, where you backbone ought to be.”
Clementine Paddleford

Which living person do you most admire?
Zackie Ahmat; AIDS activist.

What is your greatest extravagance?
I have many, probably good food.

When and where are you happiest?
At a table in a kitchen overlooking Glencairn Beach, writing while a pot simmers on the stove behind me.

On what occasion do you lie?
To avoid hurting someone’s feelings and when I want to decline an invitation.

What is your greatest fear?
I can’t go there.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?
My slight paranoia.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?
Duplicity.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
I would do some form of physical exercise.

Which historical figure do you most identify with?
I’m stumped by this one.

What is your greatest regret?
That I ever started smoking.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
I think it lies in my future…

21 thoughts on “SUNDAY AND NOT MUCH TO SAY

  1. Loved this post.

    Aah, the “little lies” we spread to avoid hurting others . . .

    Of course, sometimes we use those lies to protect ourselves from the backlash of telling the truth. : )

    One snowy winter, invited to a Gala I did not care to attend, I summoned up the courage to decline the invite WITHOUT offering a fabricated reason or previous engagement:

    “Thank you so much for your kind invitation. I won’t be able to attend. I hope you all have a wonderful time.”

    It felt liberating and wonderful and . . . I’ve done it many times since. : )

  2. I love the Clementine Paddleford quote. I grew up at the tail end of the ‘get married and live happily ever after’ generation, so had to learn this the hard way! I agree with you on Zackie Ahmat, but he’s a close tie to the Arch! Great post, Cin. 😀

  3. Pingback: 8/1/10 – questionnaire « novaheart's blog

  4. It was lovely reading about you… I have read so many of posts, but never really knew anything about YOU – about CINDY !
    Thanks for sharing this with us…
    And (I know it’s none of my business… but still … ) quit smoking already! 🙂 You then will have NOTHING to regret… think about it 🙂

    Love always…
    Cheers and Best Regards!!!

  5. I liked this a lot, may do it myself at some point. Your ‘current state of mind’ was far from unfamiliar to me, and I absolutely loved your idea of happiness, chuckled gleefully at the last part: Yes!

    To be in a state of complete and graceful peace; free of any animosity, worry or guilt. Good health, a kitchen and a computer.

    As one who can’t (still!) bear to be not well thought of, I used to lie a lot, and often for no reason at all. At some point I noticed and started deliberately leaving off the excuses not to do something, the compliments that were less than half true, etc. There is always something wonderful I can say about another – why tell them even halfheartedly what I think they want to hear? As for making excuses – I saw that me looking for an excuse not to do something was telling me something: I didn’t want to do it (I’m not the fastest learner in the world, obviously) and started – fearfully! – experimenting with leaving them off (I know Nancy said something similar above). I’m afraid I don’t always remember and the lie slips out before I can stop it. Oh, this humanness! (And did you mention paranoia?! 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

