THAI ME TO THE MOON

Thai me to the moon
Let me cook among the stars
Let me see what spring onions are like
On jupiter and mars

(With apologies to Mister Sinatra)

Food bloggers are all over the place these days and I would hazard a guess that food is the most highly populated area of all blogging genres. Few make enough of an impact on me to keep me going back to their blog. One of the foodies I am in awe of is Nina Timm, whose photographs alone are enough to make me a lifetime fan.

Nina is hosting a ‘blog event’; a competition for the best Thai inspired food post.

Despite the stiff competition, I decided to enter; I adore Thai food and cook it frequently. As I so often blog prawn dishes I’ve cooked, I thought a cashew and chicken green curry would be a nice change. My husband prefers a really spicy red curry, but my pal Mel was coming over and she can’t take very hot food, so I gave him a bowl of fresh chillies to up the burn-factor.

Our home décor bears testimony to our love of all things Thai; lamps, paintings, carvings … and one of the reasons I enjoyed this challenge so much is that it allowed me the opportunity of using my collection of Thai crockery.

Mel brought along a bottle of bubbles, as she is wont to do. My husband ate and escaped to the fireside, knowing that we would drive him batty with our conversation, which carried on well into the night.

Another unforgettable evening with my dear friend, thanks Mel.
And thank you Nina, for providing the inspiration.

38 thoughts on “THAI ME TO THE MOON

  1. Nice play on one of my favorite songs….”In other words, hold my hand. In other words, kiss me.” and Frank sang it best of all the crooners. I am tongue Thai’d at the food…I love the stuff. Nice post all together…you have a knack for sure.

    I treasure your visits to my little corner…Just Say’n

    Tracy H

  2. I was just about to head off to bed when I say your post…since I love cooking…I had to read it…and so glad that I did since I also love Thai cooking…I did have one question regarding your post on the smoked oysters in your previous post…was there a specific way that you prepared that dish? If so could you email me the the recipe? Have a good day!

    • I mailed you, put it popped right back, so here it is (because other people also want the recipe):
      I use a bread made by a local baker, it’s made of rough flour and delightfully crusty, about 500cm long. (You could use any baguette or French loaf, depending on how many people you’re feeding, or whether it will serve as part of your starter course. We often have it with soup as a main meal on weekday evenings; or with a salad in the summer).

      Cut the loaf in half, horizontally and spread butter and garlic on both cut sides.

      Place tinned, smoked oysters (and mussels if you wish) on the bottom half and reassemble the loaf.

      Make vertical cuts into the loaf, almost to the very bottom, at one inch intervals.

      Cover the loaf in tin foil and heat through before serving.

      Enjoy, let me know when you’ve tried it.

  3. Oh wow, you and Rosemary just made my day…..I am blushing typing here thx to you two ladies. Thx for entering Cin…..it sure looks like you had fun…..laughed about hubby escaping to the TV!!!

  4. Cooking’s not my thing.. I just cook to survive… And according to my husband, and m friends who are brave enough to risk their lives over my culinary skills, I am not as bad as I deem myself to be! 🙂 Pheww.. bless those lovely people! 🙂

    But your enthusiasm is quite contagious, I must say!! And pictures are..well.. yummmyy!!!! I am Indian, and by definition, we love spicy food! So Thai’s a yes-yes on my list as well..although I must admit, too much spice has never done me any good…:)

    Long story short… GOOD LUCK with the cooking competition at Nina’s… and have fun!! 🙂

      • Girl… the pictures here say a different story!! I am sure you will be a great competitor! In any case, you will get to learn SO MUCH from the others… so FUN it’s gonna be!! 🙂

  5. Baby baby….you can Thai me to the Moon…morning, noon and night!! I always had a love for Thai and you have done it again!! “Whetting my appetite”….heading over to Nina Timm’s right now!! Wens sooooo jy het nader gebly 😦 Geniet jou dag my vriendin ~ oxoxo

  6. Such a delightful post ~ from your poem, to the challenge, to the Buddha.

    Aah, the Zen of cooking (and life). Magical, mystical, marvelous.

    “Tie me up with your Thai, Ty?” (apologies to Caddyshack)

  7. I borrowed the bottom photo (“redbud”). I adore your stack of antique trunks topped with the Buddha.

    Antique trunks “litter” my house ~ a 400 years old Scottish seaman’s chest, my dad’s tool chest from his youth, etc.

    I use one antique trunk as my filing cabinet. Wood is ever so much nicer than cold hard steel.

    Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

