MARION’S HOLIDAY

My dear,
I’m embraced by the comforting arms of my sofa, a man is playing a beautiful tune on the piano; just for me. I look out over the garden and am reminded, again, of the old French proverb: it is impossible to overdo luxury.

I read tonight at dinner … the words of De Montaigne as spicy and rich as my fine Merlot. I tasted Africa in the coriander scent and delighted at the bejeweled local fruits; my senses caressed by the opulence of my surroundings. “The art of dining well is no slight art; the pleasure not a slight pleasure”. With love, Marion

26 thoughts on “MARION’S HOLIDAY

  1. For our 20th Anniversary, we visited the Balance Rock Inn in Bar Harbor Maine. Due to travel delays, a large group failed to arrive so we were moved to an enormous ocean front room.

    The night of our anniversary, we had the patio, the pool, the vistas, the bartender, and the jazz music all to ourselves. The perfect anniversary gift from the Universe. : )

    Thanks for the reminder.

    • You’re welcome Nancy.
      This is part of a job I am doing at the moment. It is a new boutique hotel and the owner didn’t want conventional copy for his brochure and website. I presented him with the idea of creating a fictional character who writes letters to her lover about her days spent at the hotel, and allows the pictures to present the facts.
      Sometimes I just love getting paid for having fun!

      • We got the deal of a century . . . thanks to the Universe.

        After researching all the hotels I could find in Bar Harbor, we made a reservation at a rather pedestrian hotel for $125 a night, or so.

        Then, out of the blue, I received a postcard from the Balance Rock Inn, offering us a room, with full breakfast, afternoon tea, and warm cookies in the evening for $107 a night!!!

        The BRI had NOT come to my attention during my earlier search.

        We switched our hotel reservation to the BRI. When we arrived, they upgraded us (due to the last minute cancellation), and we ended up in a $400 a night room for $107 a night.

        The perfect anniversary gift from the Universe!

        As far as your premature promotion . . . mums the world.

    • Amen to that , bubbly and buoyant as William Wordsworth, with a twist of Burgon on La Flute de Vino.

      come to think of it, it was his sister Dorothee’s words that inspired Wordsworth on the infinite “Daffodil dance…

      I loved this one Cin…I meant your words…but certainly put me directly in mind of this:

      I wandered lonely as a cloud

      That floats on high o’er vales and hills,

      When all at once I saw a crowd,

      A host, of golden daffodils;

      Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
      Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.
      Continuous as the stars that shine

      And twinkle on the Milky Way,

      They stretch’d in never-ending line

      Along the margin of a bay:

      Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
      Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.
      The waves beside them danced; but they

      Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:

      A poet could not but be gay,

      In such a jocund company:

      I gazed — and gazed — but little thought
      What wealth the show to me had brought:
      For oft, when on my couch I lie

      In vacant or in pensive mood,

      They flash upon that inward eye

      Which is the bliss of solitude;

      And then my heart with pleasure fills,
      And dances with the daffodils.
      William Wordsworth

      “daffodils” 180

  2. This is just awesome and I have to say that there is nothing ordinary about anything in South Africa.. I just love the fictional character you’ve created!! A Lady with so much talent!! You Rock Girlfriend.

Leave a Reply

