BLUEPRINT

Opinions on the nature of being For Instance

Categorically, I am the age I am
and classed according
to statistical evidence
of where I should be.

My existence is documented
in uniform black ink digits,
the paper punched and placed;
perfectly centred in a file.

There are examples set
that I must follow,
specimens and prototypes
to study, within dictated times.

I am a strand of DNA underneath
this monochrome proof of Being;
today I will paint an ocean orange
and draw an apple blue.

©Cindy Taylor 2009

28 thoughts on “BLUEPRINT

  1. The nature of being…My DNA se dis byna tyd vir ‘n rooi wyntjie!! You are so very talented Cindy and I am so looking forward to read all you have to say. And very happy we have met!! Lekker dag vir jou vriendin oxo

  2. When the winds of changes shift
    May your heart always be joyful
    May your song always be sung
    May you stay forever young… Bob Dylan
    Have a great week:)

  3. Wow! We are sooo categorized and summarized… it’s like we are all some “items” to be recorded, or some samples in a science lab.. I don’t know whether to appreciate the this fact that our identities are made known to others (albeit by way of fingerprints, and DNA!), or to sneer at the impersonal nature of it all..
    A very thoughtprovoking poem, this !! Thanks for sharing this, Cindy..

  4. Pingback: Playing With My Palette « Spirit Lights The Way

  5. Absolutely wonderful poem…Nancy sent me over to read it…so glad she did! I also love reading your comments on her site! I look forward to keeping up with your blog, and have added it to my blog roll! BTW, is the language above (besides English! Afrikaans?)

Leave a Reply

