KLEINE ZALZE CHALLENGE 3 : GAMES

I’ve never had much luck with book clubs, in the groups I’ve joined in the past it’s been inevitable that someone would annoy me by calling Wilbur Smith or Danielle Steel “such a good writer” and I’d have to restrain myself from flinging my Merlot in their eyes.

But I have three very good friends who share my reading tastes, and we have fallen into the habit of meeting every other month to swap books and to talk about writers we admire. We’ve all been very busy during the first half of this year and, sadly, we haven’t managed to get together. About a month ago we made a tentative arrangement to go out for lunch yesterday, the latest Kleine Zalze challenge made me change to inviting them to my house instead, and I emailed this to the girls on Friday:

   

   Two of the ladies don’t give a hoot about food, they are busy professionals and live on microwaved meals, the other is on a very strict diet; so I did a simple finger lunch of various chicken nibbles: little pies, samoosas, skewers, lemon and barbeque bites, and coriander meatballs. My last bottle of Kleine Zalze Chenin Blanc went down well, and we had an Uitkyk Carlonet with our strawberries and Turkish Delight when we’d cleared the table and started our Scrabble game.

 

 

I wanted to limit the words permitted to food / kitchen words, but things very soon got out of hand and rather risqué. At one stage my daughter wandered into the room and glanced at the board. “Beryl,” she said, “that’s not how you spell pennies!”

It was a grand afternoon, with a lot of laughter. With friends like these I am blessed … life is truly rosy.

FOR MORE ABOUT THE KLEINE ZALZE AMBASSADOR CHALLENGE, PLEASE HAVE A LOOK AT MY OTHER POSTS:

http://www.fortheloveofwine.co.za/tag/cindy-taylor/

24 thoughts on “KLEINE ZALZE CHALLENGE 3 : GAMES

  1. How beautiful!! I would have stolen all that Turkish Delight!!!

    *mumbles* and there she was worrying about what to do!!!

  2. I ranted about Danielle Steel’s writing on WEbook a short time ago . . . after starting a book left in the villa by the previous owner that was so bad I had no choice but to abandon it 20 pages in.

    Some people defended her in their comments.

    Sadly, I had no Merlot to “share” with them. : )

    Gorgeous table!!! I love finger foods ~ did you do vegetarian samosas? Your table looks like a Valentine’s celebration. And your daughter’s comment is hysterical.

  3. Oh my, I wished I lived closer, your display looks so inviting and creative!!..and that bottle of Kleine Zalze Chenin Blanc !!
    Baby baby…how I miss that!! Awesome YOU!!!

Leave a Reply

