BIG NOISE AND QUICK CAKE

SIDE VIEW’S CHALLENGE WORD THIS WEEKEND IS: polyphloesboean [also polyphloisboian, poluphloisboian, pronounced pol-lee-FLES-bee-an, doesn’t quite rhyme with lesbian [LEZ-bee-an], adjective, from Greek poly, meaning many, and phloisbos, meaning a confused roaring noise]
from freepublic.com

I searched my mind for images that fit this word I couldn’t even get my tongue around. (*digression* with the aid of the above website, I took to saying polly-f–lesbian, and that sent me off on a tangent, maybe I will use poor Polly F, the lesbian, as a murderess in next week’s Flash 55 words? *makes a diary note*) …

This was the image that first came to mind:

Those dreadful, deafening vuvuzela drones that can make a grown man weep. (Pic taken when I went to watch the Ghana vs Uruguay game).

And the painful cacophony in my head as a result of this (all bottles are empty, but it was a very big group of people):

I’ll stop now, because my MS Word spellchecker is going insane with all the foreign words thus far … best I stick with words I know; like
poculation [pok-yu-LAY-shun, noun, from Latin poculari meaning the frequenting of the cup]

For Nancy Hatch, who asked:

(I had to refresh my memory, but the Coffee-cup chocolate cake was all the rage here about a year ago. It’s great fun for the kids to make and goes down a treat in any kind of weather.)

This recipe is from recipezaar.com.

• 4 tablespoons flour (not self-rising)
• 4 tablespoons sugar
• 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
• 1 eggs
• 3 tablespoons milk
• 3 tablespoons oil
• 3 tablespoons chocolate chips
• 1 to taste nuts
• 1 dash vanilla
Directions:
1. 1 Required: 1 coffee mug.
2. 2 Add dry ingredients to coffee mug and mix well.
3. 3 Add the egg and mix well.
4. 4 Add milk and oil and mix well.
5. 5 Add vanilla, chocolate chips and nuts if desired.
6. 6 Put the mug in the microwave and cook on high for 3 minutes.
7. 7 The cake will rise over the top of the mug, but don’t be alarmed. Allow to cool a little and tip out onto a plate if desired.

29 thoughts on “BIG NOISE AND QUICK CAKE

  1. Big group of people?? Then that would not have been enough wine surely!!

    That ‘cup cake’ works a treat actually – even if you do it in smallish cermic or glass bowls (did mine in little heart shaped bowls for valentines day last year).

    Have a lekker weekend OC

  2. Thanks for the cake recipe, Cindy. Now that I know what’s in the cup . . . it looks good enough to eat. (Glad it’s not Octopus Ink Mousse . . . or Black Truffle Souffle). : )

    When I saw the prompt . . . I immediately thought vuvuzelas (even though I’ve never heard one in person).

    But the hammering inside the head after too little “self control” is an excellent runner up.

    Nice flow to this post.

  3. Hello OC!!!

    hmm not so sure about the lesbian thing…..lol
    do very much like the chocolate thing……
    Just showed C and she is shaking her head as i am going to ry and make it for little C tonight *wink wink* thanks very much
    have a good one

  4. Glad you found the pronounciation, Cin, but it’s still too much for me, lol. Good grief what a word! And it doesn’t even sound anything like what it’s supposed to mean. Nice recipe!

  5. Thanks, I had lost that cake recipe. Someone ahd sent it ages ago in an email. I always meant to try it and never got around to it. That is a lot of wine bottles! Must’ve been a great time!

  6. sidey has really flipped with her recent themes! Who would have known such words even existed?

    The ONLY thing that I can think of to fit it is the Vuvu – so I deduce that the Ancient Griks alreadly had them and encouraged their favourite Olympics stars with them?

  7. Cindy…I cannot image being in a stadium with that many vuvuzalas…they were quite annoying on the television…I hope you did not suffer any hearing loss due to that experience….as for your Coffee-cup chocolate cake…it looks very tempting…but alas I’ve given up sweets so that I don’t have to buy a new wardrobe. As always your writing is a pleasure to read…Cheers!

    • Thank you kindly slpmartin, the pleasure in reading is mutual. As for the noise, we were fortunate to be part of a hospitality suite. I had earplugs during the game, so was only subjected to a distant hum.

  8. Pingback: The Sea is a Moody Monster « Adeeyoyo's Blog

Leave a Reply

