AND SO FIFA 2010 COMES TO AN END

My friend Tandy Sinclair is a devoted and disciplined food blogger who issues inspirational weekly challenges. This week it’s carrot cake; rather apt given my unexpected windfall of carrots and it’s orange, appropriate for my support of Holland in the final game of the FIFA 2010 Soccer World Cup.

I don’t know how many cook books I have, and I’m too lazy to count them now; some are in my kitchen, some next to my bed, others in the bookcase in our spare bedroom. There are three on the floor next to my desk and I think there is one in the boot of my car. But, if there was a fire, I know that I would instinctively run to grab COOK & ENJOY IT by S.J.A. de Villiers. I think every woman of my generation has this book. My copy was snaffled from my mother when I left home. Its pages bear testimony to my gradual move from easy to more complicated recipes; splodges and splatters bring back memories of the excitement of making my first babotie or the thrill of seeing my first walnut cake emerging perfect from the oven. The book is battlescarred; the spine is splitting, but when I am after a specific recipe, it is the first book I reach for.


My carrot cake recipe is from that book, it’s a cake I have – quite possibly – made a hundred times and my twist on it is a coconut ice frosting. Our friends return to the UK on Wednesday and so ends the happy times I’ve spent cooking for them over the past six weeks.
 

Happy memories and good food shared by a very appreciative group of special people. It has truly been a grand time.

 

Related posts:

https://theonlycin.wordpress.com/2010/07/04/kleine-zalze-ambassador-challenge-2/

 

https://theonlycin.wordpress.com/2010/07/01/rolled-beef-fillet-mushroom-sauce-and-a-story-about-sweet-potatoes/

 

29 thoughts on “AND SO FIFA 2010 COMES TO AN END

    • It is surprising how I’ve taken to soccer during this event.
      And … coconut and carrot make a really good combo, don’t know why they’re not used together more often.

  1. Yum!!!

    My sister-in-law makes a fabulous carrot cake with coconut, nuts, raisins, and carrots in the cake and a cream cheese frosting on top.

    But that coconut ice topping on yours would give her a run for the money! : )

  2. I’m normally not a footie-fan, but I’ve been completely caught up in the World Cup.
    I love your idea of the coconut ice frosting – a lovely change 🙂

  3. Is this a secret recipe? I’d love to have a go at it. I’m trying to get a bit more adventurous with my cooking. I have taken it upon myself to learn a few vegetarian dishes because I was getting a bit boring with my veges. I much prefer cakes though.

  4. I have that book!!!!
    Still use it all the time.
    My copy has a mistake under the crumpet recipe.
    Calls for four TABLEspoons of baking powder…couldn’t understand where the baking powder had got to when granddaughter was staying.

  5. I insisted that Husband buy me a “Kook en Geniet” the first Christmas after we got married. It’s a family tradition and (ultimately) for his benefit.

  6. I collect cookbooks as well. That is a beautiful carrot cake, and the coconut icing sure is a lovely twist…washoping you’d posted the recipe! Looks so yummy, makes me want to head to the kitchen and whip one up!

  7. Pingback: CHEESEY PEASEY « The only Cin

Leave a Reply

