A REMEMBRANCE OF THINGS PAST

“Language… has created the word “loneliness” to express the pain of being alone. And it has created the word “solitude” to express the glory of being alone.”

Paul Tillich

I’d like to turn back
time,
return to unsaid
words, a world
where we danced carelessly;
didn’t worry about
schoolfees dogfood vets.
And insurance.

I miss the girl;
the barefoot girl with
bells on her wrists, living by her wits
and daring to go to Athens by train.
Alone.
Eating berries and messing
and dying the skirt
to cover the juice stains.

I’d like to feel that
takenforgranted young
body again and run my hands
over the firm and supple
planes of unchartered,
enthusiastic,
youthful
promise.

©Cindy Taylor 2008

23 thoughts on “A REMEMBRANCE OF THINGS PAST

  1. Ah…something special before I head off to bed…what wonderful poem of rememberance…I shall have such sweet dreams tonight thinking of my own carefree youth. Cheers!

  2. Me too!

    I wish I could take what I know now back in time and step into my younger self’s body with all the wisdom acquired over time . . . life would have been less challenging, emotional, and tearful.

    Alternatively, I’d like to recapture my youthful exhuberance and drink it all in.

    {{Sigh}}

    You’ve given me something to dream about tonight. : )

  3. If I knew then what I know now my bras will be a LOT MORE INDUSTRIAL STRENGTH! 😦
    You are a stunning looking woman! Don’t you age at all woman?

  4. Oh…this was too good! Made me think of all the wonderful childhood-teen memories… aaahhh …
    A lovely poem!
    But you know what Cindy? You don’t have to go back there…you are there! You just to rediscover yourself 🙂
    Take care, and have a great and carefree July !!!

  5. These beautifully placed words definitely take me back to a place in my mind. But, I will have to agree with some of the others. I would have to know what I know now, to actually have a care-free experience, should I be given the chance to be a younger me again. I also agree with the others, who recognize true beauty when they see it.Not only in your portrait, but in your heart. God Bless you
    paul

  6. very nice…
    i sometimes miss that girl too then i think,have i really moved htat far ahead to be able to say that!

Leave a Reply

