THAT’S ME IN THE MIRROR

Happy dog.
Comfortable chair.
Kindly fire.

That’s me in the mirror; FINDING MY RELIGION…

 

I am grateful … beyond words…

THANK YOU, REM, THANK YOU!

Oh

Life is bigger

It’s bigger than you

And you are not me

The lengths that I will go to

The distance in your eyes

Oh no I’ve said too much

I set it up

That’s me in the corner

That’s me in the spotlight

Losing my religion

Trying to keep up with you

And I don’t know if I can do it

Oh no I’ve said too much

I haven’t said enough

I thought that I heard you laughing

I thought that I heard you sing

I think I thought I saw you try

Every whisper

Every waking hour I’m

Choosing my confessions

Trying to keep an eye on you

Like a hurt lost and blinded fool fool

Oh no I’ve said too much

I set it up

Consider this

Consider this

The hint of the century

Consider this

The slip that brought me

To my knees failed

What if all these fantasies

Come flailing around

Now I’ve said too much

I thought that I heard you laughing

I thought that I heard you sing

I think I thought I saw you try

But that was just a dream

That was just a dream

That’s me in the corner

That’s me in the spotlight

Losing my religion

Trying to keep up with you

And I don’t know if I can do it

Oh no I’ve said too much

I haven’t said enough

I thought that I heard you laughing

I thought that I heard you sing

I think I thought I saw you try

But that was just a dream

Try cry why try

That was just a dream just a dream just a dream dream …

14 thoughts on “THAT’S ME IN THE MIRROR

  1. I’m very sympathetic with the idea of your poem, Cindy. The repetition makes it like a song lyric. Do you have someone who can set it to music for you?

    • Loreen ~

      It already is a song . . . by REM. Losing My Religion.

      Cin ~

      This is the ONLY single CD I’ve ever purchased. Why? Because I wanted to be able to put it on repeat play and listen to it over and over and over again.

      Thanks.

      • Please tell me who this REM is. That’s my son’s name! Maybe I could get it for a birthday present to him. Thanks.

      • You know – this is all well and good. But I ‘left the Church’ in 1954. Went back and served wholeheartedly, for a couple of years, a while back. I have found now, that it is necessary for me to be ‘open’. To be open to the possibilities: In Christianity, In Buddhism, In Islam, In Hinduism, In Judaism, (why did I put that last) etc. including Taoism, etc. etc. Other wise, even the New Age Spirituality will become just another ‘Religion’.

      • Thanks so much for the feed into their audio. I’m actually getting out into the real world, and culture, through these connections. Getting to know what happening. Thanks.

  2. Consider this:

    I am a religous person and I love that song.
    “losing my religion” is a fairly common term in my part of the world ,it refers to getting mad and acting the fool by swearing etc.. .

    I think that they just do marvelous things with the saying and I really get lost in the words and music.

    now I’ve said too much 🙂

Leave a Reply

