I like you. People say I’ve got no taste, but I like you

Side View has been fierce with us this week; her word for the weekend theme is charientism! And I, striving to be ever gracious *snide grin* am incapable of participating. Consider the Wiktionary offering on the word:
Noun
charientism (uncountable)
1. (rhetoric) A figure of speech wherein a taunting expression is softened by a jest; an insult veiled in grace.

Does that sound like something I would ever be guilty of? Of course not! *witchy cackle*

Let’s look instead, shall we, at some beautiful “I wish I’d said that” outright insults:

Every word she writes is a lie, including ‘and’ and ‘the’
Mary McCarthy, in a statement about Lilian Hellman
I have met a lot of hardboiled eggs in my time, but You’re twenty minutes
Oscar Wilde
Methinks thou art a general offence and every man should beat thee
William Shakespeare
I’ve had a wonderful evening – but this wasn’t it
Groucho Marx
Why am I so good at playing bitches? I think it’s because I’m not a bitch. Maybe that’s why Miss Crawford always plays ladies

and
The best time I ever had with Joan Crawford was when I pushed her down the stairs in Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?
Bette Davis
She has no enemies, but is intensely disliked by her friends …
I don’t know the source of that last one, but I DO know someone it would be just perfect for.

22 thoughts on “I like you. People say I’ve got no taste, but I like you

  1. Wish you could have helped me, lol, but none of your suggestions fit my contribution – finished except for the last line!!! Never mind, it will come to me (I hope). 😀

  2. Out my way, people have adopted a new way of insulting and taking it back. I hate it.

    Whatever the insult is, all that is imagined to be needed to recind is the phrase, “…I’m just sayin’…”

    Grumble

  3. LMAO You are in fine witty form my dear and I savoured this one. Dorothy Parker is getting wind of your antics on the other side is quite suitably impressed mon amis.

Leave a Reply

