MY BUCKET LIST

When I am laid to rest
for my final slumber
there must be no regret.

I dream that I’ll have seen
– by then –
The Kremlin and the Chinese Wall;
read all the poems of Jakob Bier
and swum in the Aegean Sea.

If Mister Adria has cooked for me
and my journals are safe in custody;
faithful memories for future reference
of the little ones who’ll follow,
then my hollow urn can finally be filled.

Some pointers though
to planners of the show:
Allow me, please! The company of my
scarlet heels and make the
roses on my pyre red.
©Cindy Taylor 2008

Note:
El Bulli is a three Michelin starred restaurant run by chef Ferran Adrià in Roses on the Costa Brava in Catalonia, Spain. The small restaurant overlooks the Cala Monjoi bay, and has been described as “the most imaginative generator of haute cuisine on the planet”, with a great deal of work done on molecular gastronomy. Restaurant has judged El Bulli the best restaurant in the world a record four times — in 2002, 2006, 2007 and 2008.

Related post: https://theonlycin.wordpress.com/2010/06/07/when-the-angels-come/

8 thoughts on “MY BUCKET LIST

  1. When I die I just want to die without regrets…. Lovely bucket list Cin… and I just can’t imagine you going anywhere without your red shoes… 🙂

  2. I liked the way this dealt with a topic that can be quite dark with bright, uplifting imagery. I love the idea of your journals being in safe custody. Sometimes when I think about my bucket list it makes me anxious because I think, “Im running out of time!” Then I take a step back and list the things I’ve achieved already the things I’ve ticked off my bucket list, which is reassuring. High on my list are the pyramids in Egypt.

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

