I AM NOT A SENSIBLE MOTOR CAR

Every now and again, out of the blue, my husband’s accountant tells him that it’s time I had a new motor car. This strikes me as completely absurd, as I drive a total of about 4000 kms in a whole year; so when the man wants to take away my car, it’s still in perfect condition and I protest, but they insist and men arrive, take the car and leave another in its place.

This is all very well and I am sure there is a valid reason. However, I am mystified at what they choose for me. Allow me a little anthropomorphism here, let’s pretend this is Facebook and we are completing one of those inane quizzes: What Car Are You?

In my case, performance counts for little because of my lack of long distance forays. No, I don’t care about horsepower, fuel consumption or torque. I like ambience. I see myself as a vintage vehicle; a Bugatti T49 perhaps. Or a sexy old E-type Jaguar, hell; I even fancy I could make a Carmen Ghia purr with pride.

But no! I get cars that are named after fat, sensible girls or guard dogs: Honda, Getz and the horsey-set-crowd-sounding Polo. Honestly, I have never liked Burberry checks and would die rather than be seen in shoes with cleats; but I have been made to drive a Golf!

It makes no sense.

8 thoughts on “I AM NOT A SENSIBLE MOTOR CAR

  1. When will guys learn that a girl wants a car that fits her image of herself and that will take her from A to B without any trouble. *well, that’s me at any rate*

  2. This is funny. I don’t put many miles on my car either as I work from home and I just prefer to be home or just take short trips. Mine is a Subaru…don’t know if it fits me, but it’s dependable and that’s me!

  3. I must agree about replacing a car before it really needs to be replaced…the car’s purpose is to take one from point A to point B …and it does so safely why replace it…other than for purposes of ego…which occurs quite a bit in my country.

  4. I bought a used car when I graduated from college and kept it for 6 years.

    I bought a Honda Accord “Hatch”back and kept it for 14 years.

    I replaced that with a Honda Civic . . . 10 years later it’s still going strong.

    I tend to let go of people, places, and things as we move around the cabin of life . . . but my cars are keepers. : )

Leave a Reply

