POETS’ PLAYGROUND

In the middle of 2008, I discovered a poet who changed my life; De Waal Venter.
I enrolled in a course of tuition with him and so embarked on a delightful journey of writing my own poems.

Yesterday he issued the following challenge, feel free to join in the fun if you like:

the dog’s lazy python of a tail
his fingers strong as green vine branches
her cheek undisturbed milkiness on the grape
I bit the day in half, liked the first bit better
Can a snail snarl? I can, but won’t today

Can some, or all of these fragments inspire a poem by you? You may use (and adapt) any or all of these into your poem.

6 thoughts on “POETS’ PLAYGROUND

  1. Very, very clever, Cin! I love the tail and the snail, lol! Shepherd’s tails are very python-like and, if you don’t watch out, all the cups are swiped off the table.

  2. Box o’ days

    I bit the day in half, liked the first bit better
    And so it went
    In the box of weeks wasted
    And the other half followed me around
    Cruel devil of a half day
    It found its way into everything
    Multiplying itself across years
    Making me die to its will
    in decades abandoned
    Until at last the box was full
    Of better half days
    So rare and shiny
    Bright enough to blind
    Long enough to find myself
    At the better part of decades
    With an empty box of better half days
    With so much more
    to chew on

    • Hello opoetoo

      You’ve managed to make very good use of the phrase. The poem built on those few words offers a few useful insights in a way that hold the reader’s attention. A pleasant to read.

      I particularly like:

      Until at last the box was full
      Of better half days
      So rare and shiny
      Bright enough to blind

      Well done! 🙂

  3. Thank you so much.
    The poem was written in a hurry but your wonderful phrase stuck when I first read it and had been brewing for a few hours
    before I wrote anything.
    thanks again

Leave a Reply

