MOST EMBARRASSING MOMENT

My mother made it her mission to show us as much of South Africa as possible. We made an annual trek to our caravan at Kei Mouth every December, but the Easter holidays were reserved for new destinations and we were lucky to experience rondavels in Lesotho, wood cabins in Swaziland and – the year I turned fourteen – a month in a rented bungalow at St.-Michaels-On-Sea.
Early each morning we would beat an excited path down to the beach, where we would spend the morning slathered in Coppertone (we wanted to burn), playing Frisbee and making friends. I was very proud of my fashionable two-tone tanga bathing suit and had my first holiday romance. He was a local boy, hired – with five others – to serve as lifeguard for the season.
We had to be back at the house at one o’ clock sharp for lunch (it was always cold meats and salad) and had to lie down for an hour afterwards; our food had to digest otherwise we would ‘get cramp and drown’. I would remove my bikini top from under my t-shirt (the knot at the back dug into my flesh) for my nap. When the hour had passed, we’d scurry back to the beach for more fun; we knew that it was six o’ clock and time to end the day when we saw my dad’s braai smoke rising above the house.
One afternoon, arriving back at the beach, I joined my little circle of friends as they were getting ready to have a swim. I flung my towel and slip-slops down and lifted my t-shirt over my head, only to meet the open-mouthed faces of my friends: I had forgotten to put my bikini top back on after my snooze! I was absolutely mortified and ran, sobbing, back to the house. Luckily it was our last day and I didn’t have to face the locals again.

10 thoughts on “MOST EMBARRASSING MOMENT

  1. One of my most embarrassing moments is quite similar – we were out to lunch with my mom’s wealthy brother and as we were walking up the stairs a gust of wind blew my dress over my head, revealing my very sexy black lace g-string underneath. That was bad enough, but as I looked to my right there was a table of hot guys applauding. I have never set foot at the restaurant again.

  2. Bwahahaha! My mom told me once that she had been swimming in the sea with a group of friends and, as she stood up after surfing in on a wave, her bikini bottom was down to her ankles.

  3. Hi OC

    Hmm i think we all have an embarrising moment to tell …lol
    Sound like you had a marvoulas upbring..

    Take care
    Kangoo

  4. Your beach days sound wonderful . . . and very like the excitement we felt when we spent our summers on the sand.

    We lived about 20-30 minutes from the Atlantic Ocean which meant lots of “day trips” to the beach, but not many overnight stays listening to the sound of the surf.

    I avoided your “most embarassing moment” . . . by always wearing a one piece suit. : )

Leave a Reply

