GREAT MINDS THINK ALIKE?

A Coincidence occurs when something uncanny, accidental and unexpected happens. The word is derived from the Latin co- (“in”, “with”, “together”) and incidere (“to fall on”). In science, the term is generally used in a more literal translation, e.g., referring to when two rays of light strike a surface at the same point at the same time.
– wikipedia

I like the idea of “two rays of light” as a description for what’s being happening to me in the past week. First there was the coincidence of Nancy and I having strikingly similar thought patterns in our posts; quite thrilling, given that we have connected so very recently.

Then, early this morning, I was drafting a post to a friend who has also just recently moved to WordPress and is feeling a bit as if she is all alone out in a wilderness and is unsure of how to connect with fellow bloggers. What she is missing here is for her blog posts to be validated by commentary interaction.

I got a bit stuck with trying to put thoughts into words, as one does, and took my regular surfing visit to some of my favourite blogs. A tad surprised when I saw Greg’s post ‘Validation’ I was quite spooked when I read SumDumBum’s morning offering “Strange that the validation I get from a LOL or maybe a LMAO left by a totally random person should mean so much in my life.”

Coincidence?
Heck, I sure am hoping I can obliterate the other thoughts I had this morning from my mind … I’d blush the colour of beetroot if everyone started blogging along those lines …

Ps: If you have a spare minute, please welcome my friend to WordPress:

http://granny1947.wordpress.com/

16 thoughts on “GREAT MINDS THINK ALIKE?

  1. Hi
    Enjoying your posts daily, but had a bit of a problem leaving comments. Hope this one reaches you.
    Yep, we all need validation in some form or another. We are only human, after all! Have a nice day!

  2. Hi Tannemys, I think the problem you experienced is that comments don’t automatically appear; they go into my Dashboard for approval first. It’s a good way to make sure there are no trolls and spam.

  3. I must admit that I too am missing the validation of commentary interaction that I received on LD.

    I find WP a little challenging from a user’s perspective because I still haven’t figured out how to add blogs to my blogroll, so I am visiting random blogs without actually being able to go back and see if my comments have been replied to.

    I will pop over to Granny’s blog – I’m glad she’s also decided to join us here.

    As for co-incidence, a colleague and I are dressed exactly the same today. Black jeans, black boots and slogan T-shirts. It feels kind of like I’m in the Twilight Zone.

    • One way to follow blogs, without a blog roll, would be to subscribe to blogs that appeal to you.

      Another is to create a post of your favorite blogs and add to it periodically.

      A third idea ~ subscribe to comments to receive notification of follow ups.

      That said, creating a blog roll in WP usually requires adding a “widget” to the side bar of your blog.

      Once the blogroll is in place, it’s super easy to add WP blogs to it. If you’re on another WP blog, click on “Blog Info” on the top margin ~ then click on “Add to my blogroll.” Done.

  4. Hmmm. Coincidence or serendipity I wonder.

    In the case of my post, I have had it sitting in my draft posts for about 3 weeks. When I woke up this morning the first thing I thought about was the video in my post, and for some reason I just felt that I had to post it up this morning.

    Well weird, but it feels right all round.

  5. Another wonderful post, Cin.

    I’m sure that not all bloggers will be writing about validation today . . . but the Universe can whisper in our ear at any time and send us off the direction we need to head to find what we need to hear:

    Perhaps something like this happened . . .

    Your friend needed validation. You were searching for the right words to share. The Universe knew that Greg had exactly the right post sitting in his draft box. It whispered to Greg, “That one. Today.” It whispered to you, go see what Greg has to say.”

    I love the winks, whispers and nudges from the Universe! : )

    So glad we met this week.

  6. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say excellent blog!

Leave a Reply

