STOPPED INTO A CHURCH

JOHANNESBURG AFTERNOON

stopped into a church
I passed along the way
well, I got down on my knees
and I pretend to pray…
 
California Dreamin’ – Mamas & the Papas

Well, that is not exactly how it was …
 
I was in Forest Town, on a mission to do a photo-post of mailboxes. 

 

And then I got drawn into the garden of the Forest Town Church;
just look at their rose garden!

 
Music!  I heard loud music; what seemed to be a tympanic band,
coming from nearby, an orchestra of xylophones. 
For some reason I thought of beaches with smoky fires;
it was a Marimba band! 
I cocked my head and looked around. 
There!  Up on the ridge, it must be a special performance at
the Westcliff; how tall that tree is, how old it must be.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I sat on a bench in the church garden for a while and listened

When a man came along and asked what I was doing there, I hurried away.  As I walked back to my car I looked up at the horizon; Old Johannesburg. 

Bejeweled old whore she may be, but she has her own, unique, beauty.  And what stories she has to tell…

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “STOPPED INTO A CHURCH

  1. As soon as I saw the title of this post, the Mamas and Papas song began playing in my head.

    Rik does a fair amount of California Dreamin’ . . . given his state of residence. : )

    Loved this tribute to the lure of music . . . and the “bejeweled old whore.”

  2. Pingback: A Lone Piper In The Mist « Spirit Lights The Way

  3. Know that view well, in my previous corporate life used to have do’s often at the Westcliff. I spent more time admiring the view then ‘networking’ or doing whatever it is that you’re meant to at those things.

Leave a Reply

