PERCEPTIONS OF POSH NOSH

My daughter, for years; happily embraced the preferred foods of Old Spouse and I.  In fact, like Old Spouse, she gets positively cranky if a three-day period passes without the appearance at table of a bean-and-lentil casserole. 

She’s drawn curious stares in restaurants, this little girl; ordering cucumber maki or dipping her ciabatta into balsamic vinegar.  For five years, she set off happily in the mornings with her tubs of chopped fruit and a peanut butter on whole-wheat sandwich.

And then; new city and a new school, with new friends presented us with a completely unexpected development: she became aware of processed food.

She had her first play date with one of her new friends and I knew immediately, when I fetched her, that she had something momentous to tell me.  She could barely contain herself and burst out the minute she was strapped into her seat:  The Van Rensburgs are so rich; they have white bread and they buy it already sliced!

Oh! There followed a stream of reverent praise for this family; they also – I heard – had pink, sliced meat to put on this heavenly bread and a little machine that just needed a squirt of syrup and you could make any cold drink in the world!  Could she please have a sleepover at their house; they have chocolate breakfast cereal and Mindy Van Rensburg doesn’t even know what Jungle Oats are.  (Heck, they must be quite a constipated household).

After a brief bout of panic, Old Spouse and I came up with a little defence strategy and we invited young Mindy over on a few consecutive weekends.

Mrs. Van Rensburg was quite cross with me.  Mindy took to complaining and telling her how she wished her mom would bake muffins and pumpkin fritters … like Chelsea’s mom does.

Now, I wonder if an invitation to share some Merlot would placate Mrs. Van?

20 thoughts on “PERCEPTIONS OF POSH NOSH

  1. Kids are amazing! Little Madam had a sleepover a few weeks back. When the “rich kid” arrived at our house she went crazy! “You have TWO dogs” … “You have your OWN pool” … etc. At dinner time I made minute steak rolls and was asked “excuse me, are these fillet steak rolls?” I laughed, took a sip of my Merlot and explained that sadly they were not! Well, this “fillet steak” kid reckoned it was the best steak ever! LOL

    PS: If Mrs Van can’t make the Merlot date, can I come in her place?

  2. Fabulous post ! I can’t stand processed food but had not been very successful in convincing all my offspring that processed is not cool ! Perhaps I should go bake another batch of muffins !

  3. Serves Mrs V R right for giving her child pink meat. (I HATE polony, but somewhere, oh somewhere, my children learnt to eat and love it. I buy it once a month. That’s me at the cold meat counter in Spar: R5’s French polony, please…)

  4. Lolololol! No. I think the damage is irreparable, Cin, and besides, mrs V Rensburg sounds more like a Vodca passionfruit an lemonade kinda gal to me!

Leave a Reply

