AUDACITY?

I heard them; they were upstairs, painting the walls while keeping an eye on the cricket.  I don’t know what they were talking about, but the tone was clear; they were comfortable together as only a father and daughter can be.  A thunderstorm broke and cut their conversation from my hearing, so I turned back to my kitchen and the Creedence song on the radio.  The smell of the roasting peppers and garlic in the oven was heavenly.  As I stirred wine into the sizzling onions on the stove it occurred to me that I am happy, content in a pure and almost primitive way.

Is it audacity to proclaim happiness when many others are so unhappy?

24 thoughts on “AUDACITY?

  1. No it is never audacity Cin – you are grateful for what you have and that is all that is required.
    You are allowed to be happy – everyone is.

  2. Nope. Unhappiness is usually temporary, because one has a choice – your proclaimed happiness reminds others who are in the downswing of things about that and may inspire more than you think.

    • Thank you Alyson. I’m intrigued by your URL; my Facebook status update yesterday was the William James quote “Common sense and a sense of humor are the same thing, moving at different speeds. A sense of humor is just common sense, dancing.”

Leave a Reply

