HAPPILY AND GRATEFULLY IN THE 2014 SADDLE

At times our own light goes out and is rekindled by a spark from another person. Each of us has cause to think with deep gratitude of those who have lighted the flame within.

– Albert Schweitzer

2014 has started with sparks of blessings from many quarters. First off, on the 8th, I celebrated my birthday with an outpouring of love from so many quarters that I was left breathless. I was spoiled at a lovely brunch by my dear friend of 44 years, and she surprised me by having two old schoolfriends join us.

My birthday celebrations continued throughout the week, with many plates of delicious food being consumed in superb company.

I’ve been further blessed to find the perfect job, in the most beautiful environment. I am personal assistant to a psychologist who works from her beautiful home. I work four days a week, two of which are half-day, so I am lucky to be able to spend time with my daughter, who has started at a new school this year and has a busy extra-mural calendar – how nice for both of us that I am able to step in and do much of the ferrying to and fro.

My work colleagues are two cats and a sausage dog, all of them will – no doubt – provide me with lots of blog fodder. The cats consented to having their photos taken, but Maddie is a discerning hound and will – hopefully – allow her picture to grace this blog in her own sweet time.

 

I continue to be grateful to God for my rekindled relationship with my daughter. I am loving getting to know her boyfriend too, he is a wonderful young man and it melts my heart to see how gently he treats my child. They celebrated their first anniversary together on the 12th and I pray that they see many more happy years together.

My best wishes go out to all my blog friends for a blessed 2014. Thank you all for your love and support.

Gratitude is the inward feeling of kindness received. Thankfulness is the natural impulse to express that feeling. Thanksgiving is the following of that impulse.
– Henry Van Dyke

36 thoughts on “HAPPILY AND GRATEFULLY IN THE 2014 SADDLE

  1. Cindy, I cannot fully express how good you made my heart feel this morning. I am so pleased for you, you look wonderful and you have a very beautiful daughter. So glad to hear about your new job. I will pray that God continues to bring you many more blessings this coming year and you are right. We are only given today, so do things now, waiting to be ready is often just time wasted.

  2. Oh, what an exquisite post, Cindy, in every way! It’s so uplifting to read such wonderful news and inspiring quotes, thank you. Congrats on it all and may happiness continue to flow into your life.

  3. Your daughter is beautiful. She has gorgeous hair (the type I always wished I had). And your birthday is on the same day as Elvis’s! That’s also our wedding anniversary so on the 8th, we were celebrating too. I’m so excited to hear about your job. What excellent news. And she has a sausage dog? I have two! It sounds like your 2014 is off to an amazing start and long may it continue – it’s your turn to live under the realm of blessings xx

    • 8th of January is a busy day on the calendar, HS, David Bowie too … and I was born on my dad’s 21st! Belated congrats on your wedding anniversary, may you have many more xxx

  4. Cindy, belated happy birthday and new year. It sounds like things have taken a turn for the better. Hooray! Congrats on the new job and the handsome couple your daughter and her honey make. Be well. :-)

Leave a Reply

