DECLINING AN AWARD ON HERITAGE DAY

I have been awarded the ‘One Lovely Blog’ award by Mal. I’ve been blogging on various platforms for almost ten years now and I think that it is time for me to begin declining these awards, although I am very grateful to Mal for the nomination. The rules of this particular one are as follows:
• Thank the one that nominated you. My sincere thanks to you, Mal:
http://maloquacious.wordpress.com/2013/09/22/one-lovely-blog-award-2/

Put up the picture for the One Lovely Blog Award.

one_lovely_blog_award

Tell everyone seven things about yourself. I think I’ve done this so often that all my blog friends know everything there is to know about me. Nonetheless, below are a few random facts about today:

I love soap. I’ve heard many people say they’d be insulted if given soap as a birthday or Christmas gift; I wouldn’t. Not at all, I have bars of soap stashed all over the place: in the pockets of my winter coats to ward off fishmoths, in my linen closet to scent my sheets, in jars on the edge of my bathtub … I love soap! (Spot the bar of bergamot soap poking out of the pocket.)

coat with soap_edited

Although much time has passed, and – to all outward appearances – I have settled nicely in my apartment and have “gotten over it”, I still occasionally reel in shock at the change in my circumstances. I will wake up in the morning and, just for a moment, I will forget that I am not a wife anymore; that there is not some shared activity in which to be engaged for the day. This – feeling like an amputee - I am told, is a natural part of the process of grieving:
“I had known a man, a butcher, who had accidently hacked off most of his left hand while cutting up a side of beef. All that was left was the thumb and index finger, but he claimed to be able to feel his other, absent fingers, so much so that he often went to twist the ring that had once rested on one of them. In a way I could still feel my other life, or the lack of it. Sometimes I would be walking down a Roman street and be overcome by the sensation that I was in the Via della Condotta or Volta dei Tintori, or some other Florentine place. But I was never able to grab hold of these things – of course not, because they existed only in my mind. I wanted to, though. I craved some sort of contact, to see or touch the ghosts of home.” – Appetite, Philip Kazan.

appetite philip kazan
Read this book if you love history, art and food!
Without the company of my cat, I expect I would go slightly insane on lonely days. Our relationship took a while to get off the ground, but she has proved to be excellent company and an ever-ready ear when self-pity threatens to overwhelm me. As a keeper of secrets she cannot be faulted.

ally on heritage day_edited

Today is our National Heritage Day and it has become customary for the entire nation to cook meat on fires. I’m not sure that barbecues are allowed on the balconies in my building, but I lit one in my miniature Weber regardless of what rules may exist.

first weber braai_edited

My feast today was a solitary one; my daughter is away at the coast for the school holidays, or I would have invited her and her swain to join me. I cooked chicken marinated in Portuguese spices and ginger beer. One leg for my lunch, with potato salad and sliced beetroot. The other will be used for chicken mayonnaise sandwiches for tomorrow’s lunch.

marinating chicken_edited

braaid chicken_edited

And so ends a relatively good day. I have been productive and have enjoyed sunshine, some good music and have attained a sense of relative serenity. All is good and I will sleep well. Tomorrow my job hunting continues and I will tackle it with the faith that I continue to operate beneath the benign hand of God. I will forge ahead and see what my new life becomes…

dilla lolly

In the meantime, I think an ice lolly will finish off the day nicely.

46 thoughts on “DECLINING AN AWARD ON HERITAGE DAY

  1. I’m sure the smell of ginger is nice on the meat,I love ginger,must try that. The ice lolly looks delicious,is that granadilla pulps? Enjoy the rest of the day

  2. Single life, after a divorce, can be quite challenging at times. On the bright side, one can do as one pleases, like flouting complex rules and making a mini-braai on the balcony! The chicken looks delicious and the ice lolly made my mouth water.

  3. Hi Cindy – I don’t know if you have registered on a website “RecruitMyMom”. They oftern have very interesting work offerings – work from home – others part time – still others contracts. Worth a look/see. xxxxx

  4. Beautiful post amica mia. Congratulations on the blog award , even though you declined it. I think of you so often , and remember I am just a Bmm away. I was alone today , and did not even attempt to make a braai. That lolly looks lovely , perfect way to cool off. God Bless always my dear friend.

  5. One should never feel lonely if a companionable cat is available!
    My rule is now only to accept awards earned by actual effort of some sort, like entering a competition or achieving a challenge.

  6. Good on you for having a BBQ on your balcony. I love how your cat is very good at keeping secrets! Good luck with the job hunt – not an enviable task but I’m sure there’s a fantastic job out there for you somewhere. I do hope your daughter is able to join you for a meal soon xx

  7. Although you may not be able to see the light, love’s warmth awaits you…I do believe in such things…for when I was where you are now…I found what I was truly seeking…peace be with you my dear friend.

  8. Aah yes, kitties are the best secret keepers – I’m sure my 3 are bursting at the seams with the amount they keep. How lovely you braaied solo Cindy, not something I have done very often.
    I’m crossing fingers and toes for the right job to come along – there is a wonderful one out there just waiting for you to find it,.
    Have a happy day. :-) Mandy xo

  9. I feel the same about losing my mom. I will be going about my day or laughing at something and suddenly realize that she is gone forever. I just can’t believe that. But thank goodness you could possbily get a new husband. And hey with all of these online dating sites you can actually pick one just like out of a catalog! Wow just imagine.

  10. I love your kitty, they are such good company, I have two. I must commend you on your barbecuing skills, the chicken looks great. My late husband always did it and I have not tried to do it myself. Enjoy every day, each new one brings its own adventure, so glad you had a good day.

  11. Hi Cindy, just wanted you to know that I am definitely missing you, and your blog. I am praying that everything that is causing you pain will pass quickly, as I know there are others out there like me who miss you. Remember that you are strong and you can do all things, God will give you that. He is the only one who never fails us, he loves us no matter what we do, and he wants us to rely on him, not on ourselves. Just start and He will finish it with you. HUGS Dee

Leave a Reply

