TWO TRIPS: IN PINK TAXIS AND DOWN-BLOG-MEMORY-LANE

Being carless is beginning to make me experience severe cabin fever; I was going batty with little to do except watch my flowers open.

flowers opening
A glance at my very full laundry basket reminded me that I urgently needed to purchase a washing machine and prompted me to do what many people who live in city centres the world over do: catch a taxi.
My drivers, Cecilia and Thobile, were very entertaining and they showed me clever shortcuts to use there-and-back in future.

Thobile with her Cabs for Women taxi cab.

cabs for women
Washing machine duly purchased (they can only deliver next week), I did some other shopping for bits and pieces I needed, including a plunger for one of my bathtubs that won’t drain. Alas, the plunger hasn’t done the trick and I’ll have to fork out for a plumber to come around.
I had time for some lunch while reading up on some Italian recipes and thinking about my answers to Mandy’s ‘Getting to know you better’ series. All too soon my outing was at an end and I had to rush to meet Thobile for my ride home.
Mandy has revisited the series on her latest blog post and I thought I’d do it to see how many of my answers have changed since the last time I completed the quiz way back in 2011.
1. What is your favourite non-alcoholic drink?
Coffee, I drink copious amounts of it throughout the day.
2. What is your favourite alcoholic drink?
I’m an alcoholic in recovery, so I don’t drink, but I used to love red wine.
3. What is your favourite food?
I’m a bit fickle and it changes from day to day, generally I favour Italian food, but today I just read about it while eating good old fish and chips.

taxi outing lunch_edited

4. What is your least favourite food?
Carrot cake, I don’t get what all the fuss is about.
5. What do you eat that others think is really weird?
Tripe, I don’t cook it myself, but I make a pig of myself when I’m invited to eat it at someone else’s house.
6. What is your favourite thing to cook/bake?
I love cooking fiddly little things that look pretty, like stuffed and breaded pumpkin flowers. Pic from when I blogged about them on 21 November 2011.

7. If you could only chose one, would it be sweet or savoury?
Savoury.
8. What time do you usually eat your dinner during the week?
I’ve long had the philosophy that eating a big meal after 4pm is not good for the body. I have my main meal at lunchtime. If I am peckish in the evening, I usually have cheese and crackers.
9. What kitchen item/s have you never owned?
A chinois, I first saw Tandy using one to make sous vide crayfish bisque and have yet to get myself one.
10. What tip would you give to a newby cooker / baker?
It’s easier than you think, relax and enjoy the process and the rewards.
11. What is the best vegetarian dish you have eaten?
Parmigiana di Melanzane. I love it! Picture from when I made it from Jamie Oliver’s recipe on my blog on June 14 2011.

12. What is the easiest meal you can cook?
Mie goreng. Picture from the recipe I posted here on 2 October 2010.

13. If you could only grow 3 herbs in your garden, what would you grow?
Coriander, rocket and parsley.
14. What would you use as a substitute for salt?
Soy sauce.
15. What 5 items would you pack for a quick and easy picnic or day out?
Ciabatta, humus, taramasalata, cottage cheese and cranberry juice.

And now I’m hungry again …

52 thoughts on “TWO TRIPS: IN PINK TAXIS AND DOWN-BLOG-MEMORY-LANE

  1. Yay! Thanks so much for joining in the fun again Cindy. My folks live in Johannesburg and poor Dad is the only one who enjoys tripe – reckon my folks should have you over when Dad cooks his curry tripe.
    I never knew there was a dedicated taxi service for woman – what a brilliant idea! So pleased you purchased your washing machine – what a pity though it is only being delivered next week.
    Have as lovely evening and thanks again for taking part. :-) Mandy xo

  2. About your plunger episode. Did you remember to close off the bath overflow? If you don’t do that you will never build up any vacuum to clear the blockage. The overflow and plug hole are connected. Put a piece of plastic over it and try again before calling a plumber. Also see my website, http://www.ripsdiy.co.za about blockages.

    • It’s a wonderful service, Hope, if a little pricey. And I made the mistake of overpaying one of the drivers by R100 :O Anyway, maybe it was meant to be and she really needed the money :)

  3. Love the pink taxis, for and driven by women – wish we had some here! And those pink flowers – perhaps they’re even prettier than they would have been, because you watched them open. Just a thought… :)

  4. What an attractive blog! First you wow me with flowers. Then you give me cabin fever. (Now I’m about to leave here for something to do). Next you make me hungry for fancy cooking. (The Parmigiana di Melanzane looks delicious.) All in a day’s work, hey? I enjoyed the journey down your page. Off to a shopping venture. Blessings to you, Cindy…

  5. So glad you got out dear friend, and managed to get a few things done. I know that *cabin fever* feeling all too well , except in my case I end up going to Claudio . Love that look of the Italian dish ,
    Parmigiana di Melanzane…. Claudio made it about 2 weeks ago. Much love and God Bless always amica mia . xx

  6. I love the fact that you are blogging more regularly. I really missed your blogs.
    Tripe! Love it – my mom and unused to share the brains but, like you, there are only certain people who can cook it!

  7. Finally managed to get enough internet connectivity to come and read about your exciting day. Lovely to read all those answers again and I am also hungry now and it is nearly midnight! Best I get myself off to bed very quickly or I may find myself in the kitchen ;) Love the pink cab and driver. I think its awesome that they have dedicated taxis for women. Would have loved to read about the e-Tuk Tuks…..love you and I know you are going to be happy when you can get that laundry done. Hope you have an ironing board to set up :) I used to manage to unblock drains with liquid pool acid….it’s dangerous and you need to know how to use it but it works a treat…will chat to you about it. xxx

    • Don’t have an ironing board yet, Colly, luckily most of my winter clothes don’t need ironing if they are folded carefully. I’ve phoned Roto Rooter and am waiting for them to come – pool acid was not on my last grocery list ;)

  8. I love the idea of a taxi service for women. And those pink cabs are very pretty. It’s so frustrating when your washing machine dies and then you buy a new one only to be told it can’t be delivered for another week – good luck and I hope you don’t run out of clothes. Personally, I love carrot cake especially if it has nuts in it and a cream cheese frosting. I know it’s not good to eat a big dinner late at night but it’s a habit I can’t seem to change. I too would love a sous vide. xx

    • My washing machine didn’t die, HS, I lost custody of it in the separation. Besides, it was a large top-loader that wouldn’t have fitted in my kitchen. Luckily I am not in any danger of running out of clothes ;)

  9. The pink taxis are a brilliant idea!
    I’m impressed with the mie goreng and I love making nasi goreng when I can get the spices. Neither tripe nor carrot cake feature on my “have-to-eat” list.

    Stick some packing tape over the bath vent before plunging or hold a face cloth over it while plunging.

  10. I love that the ladies have their own taxi, an idea that would work here. Your food has made me feel hungry and rather inadequate as a cook. Your place looks so beautiful.

  11. All your food pics look so tasty and attractive too. I couldn’t eat tripe to save my life. Maybe I’m really missing out. :) I remember life without a washing machine, when we were first married. Not great, especially with a baby in nappies. :( I love to have a vase full of lilies in the house. Have a great weekend, Cindy. xx

  12. There is a one-woman taxi service here too. She fetches and carries at a very reasonable rate and most of the car-less women use her. Wonderful woman and she is in her 70’s!

    I love carrot cake (I think it’s the texture and the fact that both the cake and icing (yoghurt) are not over-sweet. I also love tripe done in a white sauce as well as the curried version.

    Lovely to see you posting again, Cin! ♥

  13. This was great fun and while I read them at the time, I’m now off to check out a couple of those previous posts. Many vegetarians in my house these days!

  14. Oh I never saw such a pink Taxi but it´s a great idea and safer for woman. This could be also a good option a Taxi here in Hamburg!
    Have a nice weekend,Cindy! I would like to add your blog in my blog list.I hope that´s okay for you ;-)!

Leave a Reply

