RUDE HABITS, HEARTS AND ROSES

Someone out in the road is being rude and making loud, crashing noises. It sounds to me like a Waste-Tech bin is being filled with metal and pieces of broken concrete. It’s late afternoon and I’m battling with the flu (again!), which makes it doubly rude and annoys me no end.


People are rude about habit. It is supposed to suggest sloppiness and laziness, but I don’t think they have thought about it properly. Habit is useful and comforting: it rides over the bumpy bits, it is the track that cuts across the hills and valleys and carries passengers safely through.” Elizabeth Buchan – Revenge of the Middle-Aged Woman.
I bought myself a small treat. Having not chosen to own a television set, I nonetheless found that the radio didn’t do much to dispel the uncomfortable silence in my home. Sundays are especially bad and on impulse, I went out and purchased a small, portable DVD player and have taken to spending Sundays in my pyjamas, watching movies. I began with the entire first and second series of Downton Abbey and have move on to other period dramas. As habits go, this one seems perfectly acceptable.


More distressing is the slow disintegration of my blogging habits. I simply don’t have anything very interesting to say, much less any interesting food to blog about. I’ve nudged myself back into action by my very kind friend, Mal. She’s bestowed upon me the ‘One Lovely Blog’ award, of which I feel very undeserving, yet very grateful. Thank you, Mal. I’m to accept the award my nominating 15 other bloggers, which – for those bloggers who’ve befriended me over the past 5 years of blogging know – I never do, as I can’t isolate only 15 bloggers.
I also need to disclose 7 things about me, so here goes:
1. I obsessively remove price stickers from things. I am incapable of reading a new book while my finger constantly catches on that little scrap of paper on the back cover, I must pick at it until it comes loose.
2. I rub my feet against one another while I read or watch movies. I’ve tried to make a conscious effort not to do it, but then find I’ve been concentrating so hard on not doing it that an entire chapter has run away under my eyes and I can’t recall a single word of it.


3. I’m a magpie for many objets, but in particular for heart-shaped knickknacks. (This is, according to the very reliable Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary, the correct spelling. I can’t find the origin of the term, but would be very interested to know it.)


4. I should like to have been named Rose, after my mother. Roses are quite one of my favourite things and I always have a bunch or pot of them somewhere in my home where I can catch a glimpse of them. “Roses are the only flowers that have never had a nickname. No heart’s-ease or Dutchman’s breeches for the rose … Roses rustle in the wind and smell of heaven. They are tokens of love, as well as grief. Think of that.” IBID.


5. I have a new tattoo. It is on my wrist and very small. I suppose one could say I now wear my heart and roses just below my sleeve.


6. This past Monday was our National Heritage Day and – over the past few years – it has become our national habit to braai. My solitary barbeque was a bit sad and I couldn’t help but compare it with last September and to marvel at how much one life could change within the small time span of twelve months.


7. If I should be asked to give a young girl a piece of sage advice, I’d tell her to wear the highest heels while she can. And that life is too short to try to match everything perfectly.


Once again, thanks for the award, Mal. It’s flattered me and brought me back to the blog world.

59 thoughts on “RUDE HABITS, HEARTS AND ROSES

  1. Hi Cin, was asking myself yesterday why you did not load any photos for us madam, nice heels! Somehow after my child was born I can’t put on any high heels and my feet did not shrink back to my original size.

      • Hi Cin,
        was at training on Tuesday and the facilitator looked and dressed so much like you. Short grey hair, sliver jewelery, nice tops you ussualy wear (on your photos with leggins) the whole lot! I googled her name now hoping to have a photo that I can send you.
        I was happy like a small child seeing someone I think I know!
        Another post pretty please?

  2. Rude habits reveal parts of nuns they are supposed to hide?
    The pictures are superb quality.
    One should overcome vertigo on high mountains before wearing those heels!
    Arose by any other name would still be uplifting.
    Never mind if you don’t have food to blog about. Passions will do!

  3. Nice post once again. I love hearts and roses too. I have planted creeping yellow roses to cover my patio area. I need a wall of hearts by my entrance too. And that bag and shoes are to die for. Now stop rubbing your feet together as you read this, I can see you!

  4. Hello CIn,
    Congratulations on the award. I love your bag but have no idea how on earth you walk in those shoes!

    Rose are also my fave flower :-) Love the quote.

    “Roses are the only flowers that have never had a nickname. No heart’s-ease or Dutchman’s breeches for the rose … Roses rustle in the wind and smell of heaven. They are tokens of love, as well as grief. Think of that.”

    I didn’t know flowers had nicknames??? Interesting…

  5. Love your post, Cin, and congrats on the award. I’m working my way through Downton Abbey for the second time. Looking forward to seeing the new series when we get to the US in a couple of week’s time. I cannot abide price stickers, and also have to remove those stickers that Woolies put on their avos, as soon as I get them home. :lol:

  6. I think the DVD player is an excellent idea and how wonderful to have caught up on both series of Downton Abbey. I missed so many episodes! I love the gorgeous shoes and bag. And your wall of hearts is a great feature. Beautiful roses too. Good to have you blogging again xx

  7. Many of us are changing our blogging habits, but thank goodness for subscriptions. I do not want to lose touch with bloggers I’ve come to love in some way simply because I’m not blogging for hours on end. I don’t necessarily read every blog or comment on every post, but I don’t want the connection to disappear…

    My Chiropractor neighbour tells me he knows when people are not getting enough magnesium in their bodies – they have restless feet syndrome. I upped my magnesium to partner the added calcium for my bones and my feet are more still than they have ever been. For what it’s worth, Cin!
    :)

    That same Chiropractor had something to say about high heels! I can’t believe that I wore spikes when I was a young girl working as a bank teller! I must have been mad. He said I’m very lucky I don’t have enormous back and hip problems.

    So…I enjoyed them while I had something to show off and got away with it. Well sorta!

  8. Enjoyed reading your blog…hope you are feeling better. I agree about the heels and matching. I did wear the highest ones I could when I was younger…my favorite, high slim steel heels that tapped on the sidewalks of downtown Minneapolis, MN. I love the sound of taps on shoes to this day…as a teenager drove my parents nuts putting taps and cleats on my shoes.

    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine, USA

  9. Roses are my favourites too – them and Arums – can never get enough!!
    Another thing we have in common – a love for hearts – I cannot resist – and I have a love for crosses too.
    As for blogging – I cannot even remember when last I did – can’t even get my WP page to look half decent – I do miss it but time seems to evaporate of late!!
    xxx

  10. “I simply don’t have anything very interesting to say” – au contraire, Cin, you do – it just doesn’t have to be personal – you have an Oscar Wilde sense of the mischievous, a Coco Chanel aesthetic, a Marianne Faithful rock ‘n roll decadence – get writing!!! Try
    http://www.brainpickings.org/ for a treasure hunt of inspiration.

  11. Gosh, ta for the lovely words, Cindy… you’re an inspiration! God bless you with more accolades.. I adore the way you write and the photos are always super. Long may you continue to blog, my dear friend!
    PS. I LOVE those socks, gal! :)

  12. I haven’t ever commented on your blog before – I do love it! And I love the roses arranged in the wine glasses. You used to mention your daugher now and again ….. what you baked for her school lunchboxes, etc. That was always interesting to read about. Sorry to hear about the change in your circumstances over the past year. Thinking of you.

    • Things are not as they should be between my daughter and I, Sue. I’m told it’s a normal teenager thing. I wait patiently for her, with love and understanding. Thanks for reading my blog.

  13. Ah, you have taste, Cindy…. such beautiful shoes, and knick-knacks, and you love Beck’s Blue like me. I have a fridge full of the stuff. Thanks for sharing your magnificent seven. And Hell will develop a fine patina of ice before you stop being interesting :-)

  14. We attended a 60th birthday celebration on Saturday evening and I was taken by a stone heart hanging on the patio wall – I just loved it’s simplicity.
    I also rub my feet together constantly when reading or watching TV or until falling asleep at night – it drives OH mad but I can’t not do it – it’s completely involuntary!

  15. Sometimes when you feel you have nothing worthwhile to say, you say the most interesting things! I truly enjoyed this post with its lovely pictures and bits of information about you. Thank you, Cindy!

  16. What a nice post, Cindy — loved finding out those little things about you. I once collected hearts and unicorns. I ended up giving most away, but have kept a few of the most very treasured ones. I’ve heard tons about Downtown Abbey — I’ll have to check it out one of these times. Take care — love checking in on you whenever you post!

  17. I am so glad to see your post, I am hoping that you never stop, as you bring a smile to my heart when I read them. I do agree with Bluebee, you are extremely talented and I know will find all kinds of things to write about. The roses are exquisite and as for those heels, well I used to wear them a long time ago, now comfy is the way to go for me!!!!

  18. Hi Cindy, I have to write this here as I do not know how else to contact you. Just wanted you to know that you are in my thoughts, and I am hoping that you are doing fine as I am missing your blog. I am imagining you having all manner of yummy food as fall is here for us and I think winter is there for you. looking forward to your next post, do you feel the nudging lol!!!!

Leave a Reply

