MIXED BULLOUS DISEASE AND A DESTRUCTIVE BUNNY

I’m blaming the weather for my lack of blog posts. My usual solution for writer’s block is to cook something and to concoct a story around the photo of the food. But the icy temperatures we’ve had, soup – that most un-photogenic thing – has been the order of the day. I can’t write about the great excitement that prevailed when, last week, we experienced snow storms around the country; it seems all everybody else has written about.
Wikipedia often sparks a bit of inspiration, but this morning’s random click generated only this piece of glum trivia:

Pemphigus herpetiformis (also known as “Acantholytic herpetiform dermatitis,” “Herpetiform pemphigus,” “Mixed bullous disease,” and “Pemphigus controlled by sulfapyridine”) is a cutaneous condition, a clinical variant of pemphigus that combines the clinical features of dermatitis herpetiformis with the immunopathologic features of pemphigus

Glove- and balaclava-clad, I took myself into my garden for a bit of Sunday morning pottering in the wintry sunshine and razor-sharp wind. Alas, even weeding was not an option; the weeds have all gone! Some of you may remember my pride and excitement at starting this little garden. In the days before the arrival of Big Red Betsy, I looked forward to spring and summer and imagined myself plucking great bouquets for my vases.

Total desecration has been wrought by my resident rodent …


My rabbit is, it seems, possessed by an evil spirit and she seems set to nibble and tug until nothing is left. This was once a rose bush that yielded generous Just Joeys …


My Zen birdbath, encircled by my beloved agave ‘roses’ is one of the saddest things I could imagine viewing:


And your hare doesn’t stop at plants; pots are smashed, boots are chewed, even my Persian carpets have been rendered more antique-looking than I wish for.

I’m beside myself with woe. I’m going to ask my butcher to take off the bunny’s head and prepare it for the pot. There’s a French recipe for rabbit stew in one of my mother’s notebooks. I’m going to study it in a moment. Just as soon as Betsy gets off my lap, where she is momentarily resting snugly from her obsessive foraging.

Oh, and a bird has moved in with an egg, but more of that later …

45 thoughts on “MIXED BULLOUS DISEASE AND A DESTRUCTIVE BUNNY

  1. You seem to be targeted by birds and beasts!
    Regarding your ‘mixed bullous’, yes and the frequenticisity of the frabjoles is quirtessifically milgormous.
    Fortunately those echevarias will propagate readily from the leaf fragments, if you can lie them on top of soil away from ravaging rabbits.

  2. I’ve heard it’s been cold in South Africa. We had a few warm days here in Sydney last week and I secretly hoped winter was over and Spring had arrived. Alas, it was a total false alarm. A wicked change came through bringing colder temps than I have ever experienced in Sydney, wind, rain and storms. Today was only about 11C and normally in Sydney we don’t have anything lower than 16C. I know that’s not that cold for North Americans but I just don’t have the clothes to keep me warm in these sorts of conditions. Now back to your bunny. What a naughty bunny. No wonder farmers call them a pest. What about putting naughty bunny in a cage? xx

  3. Oh dear, naughty bunny! I would love a bunny but know of there destructive noshing so have been put off. Sorry that your girl is being so naughty Cindy. Would a companion bunny help?
    Stay warm. :-) Mandy

  4. Maybe you could make her a special place just her for herself to roam and chew with plenty of her favorite plants to chew on. Inside a very large fence. The bunny that I had as a teenager did nothing but run away all the time. I could have starred in track and field.

  5. Sounds like you might be experiencing some of that global climate change there…it also sounds like the bunny has developed a strategy for staying in your good graces. :-)

  6. Hope your weather Improves soon. Your poor bunny sounds quite frustrated with life, as you must be with all that destruction. Rabbit stew does sound a bit drastic though. :)

  7. A month ago, a pigeon laid eggs in our balcony. We felt pity on it so we let it stay until the eggs hatched and then they could move out. I have to say they’re pretty messy and we struggled a lot to clean up after they moved out… just to you a head up :)
    And what cute, naughty, little bunny !!!

  8. Although the loss of your plants is not funny, I did have to chuckle that he was curled up on your lap. I think she needs her own space, a palatial hut, I believe someone suggested. Food for thought.

  9. shambies, poor old bunny :( just looking for a bit of love :) it’s a bit like having a puppy around I would think, chewing and fussing until you are about ready to pull your hair out.

  10. Sounds like a plan, Cindy! (But please don’t follow through! :lol: ) You’ve had writer’s block, and I have had writer’s overload – neither one can be very pleasant believe me! My overload has caused me to neglect my blog friends, and I do apologize. I’ll try to get back in the swing, but it will take me a while! Hope you are doing well.

    I pinged you in a story I just put up, because it mentions a wonderful creature with your name. Couldn’t help but think of you! (That’s meant to be funny! You bear no resemblance, but you are sweet. . .)

  11. Pingback: While I’m busy doing other things, read this – you won’t regret it! «

Leave a Reply

