LOOK WHAT THE AUGUST WIND BLEW IN

Back from my ‘retreat’ for a while now and I haven’t had time to put up a new blog post. About the retreat I can tell very little; we were totally cut off from the ‘real world’; they even confiscated my camera, so I am unable to do the planned food review of the place. This can only be a good thing for my readers as a) the food was not easy on the eye and b) just looking at pictures of said catering would make the girth of the beholder swell. I returned with an insatiable craving for protein after all that starch.
Lamb chop, anyone?

A nice surprise awaited me in my inbox on my return; I’d gone for a job interview in early June and – after waiting a few days with no response – I’d completely forgotten about it, so I was delighted to find a formal offer for the job waiting in my email inbox. It’s a dream job, with an international publishing firm and I am project managing High School English Literature books. Nice work if you can get it *smug smile*.
There is little to report for Celia’s ‘In my kitchen’ challenge for August (see above reference to protein) as my days are running into one as I adapt to my new schedule. I cook enough in the evenings to provide for my supper as well as my work-lunch.

Here’s a picture of a beef curry:

Slim pickings for my first post after such a long absence, I think I’ll end with my gratitude- and wish- lists:
Today I am grateful for:
1. Warm shelter in the cold spell we’re experiencing
2. The privilege of landing a job that is challenging and enjoyable
3. An abundance of supportive friends around the world
4. Renewed communication with my daughter
5. Perky breasts and 50 days of sobriety
Things I am looking forward to:
1. Taking Our Alice and Karabo to the theatre (They’ve never been!)
2. The end of winter and the onset of spring
3. Buying and reading Jane Raphaely’s autobiography
4. National Women’s Day on the 9th of August
5. Pork chops and beetroot for supper

My blogging MOJO seems to be having an extended leave of absence, but I had to post this due to excessive nagging from certain quarters. (Christine and Rachelle, please take note!)

In the meantime, I will rely on the promise contained in this quote:

“The pages are still blank, but there is a miraculous feeling of the words being there written in invisible ink and clamouring to become visible.” – Nabakov

79 thoughts on “LOOK WHAT THE AUGUST WIND BLEW IN

  1. Aaaaah Cindy, good to see you back here. It will come…just pop in and write a bit, as you did today, when you can and eventually it will come….the ink might be invisible for now but it will become visible again I know. I understand that clamouring of words….I experience it too. I am so proud of you in so many ways. Congratulations on the fabulous job, I wish you every success. Love, love, love the gratitude list…. and I love you friend xxx

  2. Lovely Post Cindy, a delight to read and so good to hear how you are doing. I loved the things you are grateful and looking forward to and found synchronicity and empathy… thanks for sharing. Huggs Mands

  3. Today, my sweet friend, I am so proud of you! 50 days of sobriety – you are a machine – renewed comms with your kid – you are a super mom!! (((((Cin)))) – love you lots and lots sweet friend!!

  4. Congratulations on 50 days of sobriety, a fabulous new job and renewed communication with your daughter. It sounds like things are really looking up. You Go Girl!

  5. Hi Cin, so lovely to have you back. I’ve been thinking of you and wondering how it’s all going for you. Congrats on your 50 days – that’s a huge accomplishment so a big congrats coming all the way from Sydney for you. And that is such exciting news about the job – what a great welcome home present. And I’m so pleased things are on the up and up with your daughter. It seems your life is heading in the right direction so congrats on all fronts. Looking forward to keeping in touch with more regular posts xx

  6. So glad to see you again…I do hope they fed you better than “Lamb Spam” and “Soy Bean Ox Tail”..
    Lamb Spam is “Kosher” Ham you know …
    …hmm, I think I’ll just nosh on knish knosh…
    and, “Could Ya Please Paise The Jelleh”?
    Thank Ya…
    thank ya very much…

  7. I am so glad for you, happy to see you back posting, happy that you have a new job that you will like, happy that it appears there may be an inroad with your daughter. This is a silver lining in the cloud of your life, float on all it’s blessings. I am praying for strength for you, many know you can do this, we need you to know you can do this!!!! The alternative is not good for anyone, this afternoon I will attend my friends memorial service, she was 48, and fell after a binge and sustained severe brain damage. She left two children age 7 and 9, so senseless. Many love you, and are behind you in this.

Leave a Reply

